Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    N. W. Florida,USA
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Vista and SSD question

    I know that Windows 7 and 8 have SSD capability. I don't know if Windows has a patch to allow Vista to use SSD's ;solid state drives. I fully expect headaches with the BIOS on these dated machines but the one I'm thinking about converting will be from scratch. I've heard horror stories about cloning from one to another so a clean instal and update is planned. It's the last upgrade I can make on this,"Designed for XP, Vista capable machine.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,353
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 1,162 Times in 1,069 Posts
    The SSDs are not really OS dependent, other than the OS being able to support the specific type of disks in use. SSDs are usually SATA disks, which means that they will can be supported even in XP (although this may be harder), but are definitely supported from Vista on, where SATA supported was included right from the beginning.
    That said, most manufacturers can provided you with specific information about SSD support for your specific computer. Crucial does it. I would always try to obtain such information before parting with my money.

    I recently bought and installed a Crucial 256 GB SSD on my laptop. I had no trouble whatsoever doing it with a specific cloning kit provided by Crucial, which was effortlessly cheap (if for anything else, for the included USB -> SATA cable). Cloning the disk with it was incredible easy, so I will dispute your statement that cloning is not an option. It doesn't need to be used, if you so not want, but it can be used if you want to. My laptop was running Windows 8, when I cloned it and replaced the magnetic disk by the SSD.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,131
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 247 Times in 240 Posts
    With a clean install there is no issue if Vista is aware that it is dealing with an SSD and partitions it accordingly (aligned on a boundary). I don't know if Vista is like 7 in that respect or XP (not aware).

    A simple workaround if its not is to create a partition and format the SSD on a Windows 7 machine and then install Vista to the partition without any further formatting. Paragon also makes a tool for $30 or so that will align the partition after the fact. This allows me to clone to any SSD and fix the alignment afterwards if the cloning process does not allow for SSD partition alignment.

  4. #4
    Bronze Lounger Drew1903's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,471
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 106 Times in 84 Posts
    There is no reason Vista would not be fine on a SSD.

    Cheers,
    Drew
    Win8Logo.jpg

  5. #5
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,480
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 499 Times in 459 Posts
    Windows Vista does not support TRIM, which is somewhat bewildering.
    So check with the manufacturer of the drive to see if it has some form of garbage collection capability independent of the OS.
    If it's Intel or Crucial it probably does. If it's OCZ it probably does not.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Windows 8.1, 64 bit
    Motherboard: DX58SO2*Chipset: X58 Express/Intel ICH10*BIOS: SOX5820J.86A.0888.2012.0129.2203*Processor: Intel Core i7 CPU X 990
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 580*Memory: Corsair 12 GB, 4x3@1600*PSU: Corsair HX1000*Hard drives: REVO X2 160GB*OCZ VERT X3 120GB*5 mechanical storage drives (12 TB) total.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •