4 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Windows XP Search question

In WinXP Pro with SP3, when I click on "Start/Search/For Files or Folders...", what is the name and location of the actual file that is executed?

Thanks
    Task manager says the associated process is explorer.exe.

That suggests (to your humble servant at least) that the search is part of explorer or is called by explorer (likely from a dll) and is not a standalone application. However not being a Windows expert I would not consider my opinion authoritative.

Jock

4 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Thanks for your reply, Jock.

However, running explorer.exe does not get me to the search window that I get to through the Start menu.
    What I'm looking for is this: if I wanted to create a desktop shortcut that gets me to the same place as "Start/Search/For Files or Folders...", what would my target file be?

Thanks again.

Thanks
    If you installed Windows Search 4.0 from Microsoft Update, then the target to open a Search Windows is:
    "C:\Program Files\Windows Desktop Search\WindowsSearch.exe" /launchsearchwindow

If you use Classic Search from Windows XP, then it is integral with Explorer (AFAIK, there are no command line options to do this). Just open an Explorer Windows (e.g. double click My Computer, My Documents, etc.), navigate to the folder/drive you want to search, and click on the Search button in the top bar.

If you install(ed) Windows Search 4.0 but still want the classic search when you click "Search" in an Explorer window without removing (uninstalling) 4.0, a simple registry edit will allow this:

===Begin .reg file===
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{FFAC7A18-EDF9-40DE-BA3F-49FC2269855E}\TreatAs]

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curre ntVersion\Explorer]
    "WebFindBandHook"="{68F2D3FC-8366-4a46-8224-58EFA2749425}"
    "FileFindBandHook"="{FFAC7A18-EDF9-40de-BA3F-49FC2269855E}"

===End .reg File===