Thread: Windows 8 Issue

New Lounger
    Thanks

Windows 8 Issue

I recently attempted to install a NVIDIA update. I got the error message that the process could not continue because another installation was in progress, which was a surprise to me. I'm new to Windows 8 and I don't know where to look to find out just what is causing this. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Rich

5 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    try task manager from taskbar to see what is running
    Clive

All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to curiousclive For This Useful Post:

rjj418 (2013-01-10)

New Lounger
    Thanks
    Thanks, that's a start.

Thanks
    Try to do the install immediately after a reboot?
    BATcher

Time prevents everything happening all at once...

5 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    In Task Manager look for msiexec running. It could be that something is trying to install and hasn't completed. If a reboot doesn't kill msiexec just kill it in Task Manager.
    Chuck

4 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    In Task Manager, under processes look for any that start with Nvidia and end the process if found.

4 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by rjj418 View Post
    I recently attempted to install a NVIDIA update. I got the error message that the process could not continue because another installation was in progress, which was a surprise to me. I'm new to Windows 8 and I don't know where to look to find out just what is causing this.