Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    265
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unable to get Vista SP1 to install

    Just restored laptop using restore disks made at time of purchase, went to Windows Update and updated all outstanding updates for Vista - took 4 times, but they all installed successfully. Then checked one last time and 1 important update remaining - Vista SP1. I followed all of their instructions, expecting an hour or more to install - less than 10 seconds later says installed - yet when I go to computer properties - does not show SP1. Ready to tear remaining hair out.
    Ed
    "Somebody left the cork out of my lunch." - W. C. Fields

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,656
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 635 Times in 568 Posts
    Have you tried downloading the full install package rather than letting Windows update handle it?

    For 32-bit Vista - Windows Vista Service Pack 1

    For 64-bit Vista - Windows Vista Service Pack 1 x64-based Systems

    Joe

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    edsmalley (2013-01-10)

  4. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    265
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Not gonna say this too loudly, but thanks for the link - update has been running for about 40 min so far - looking real good.

    This lounge is the best!
    Ed
    "Somebody left the cork out of my lunch." - W. C. Fields

  5. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,656
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 635 Times in 568 Posts
    You're welcome. Let us know the final result.

    Joe

  6. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Prince George, BC, Canada
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have been having a similar problem with sp1 installing to a certain point and then Error code: 0x8007000D
    I thought it might be because I tried to 'hurry' the updates my clicking on Windows Update and updating as fast as possible. I am now on my second re-install attempt and am letting Microsoft Automatic Update handle the chore...except I check my shutdown button frequently to see if an update is waiting to install on shutdown. If so, I shutdown. The process has yet to get to sp1.

    I have a Dell Inspiron 640m laptop with all the original disks.
    I have upgraded the processor to a T7200, the ram to 4 gb (even though the mb specs say it can only take 2gb, it seems to work), and the hard drive to a faster, larger one with a bigger cache. Could these changes cause the error code?

    I had the error code problem on the first re-install attempt and tried the MS Fix It utility using the tool to fix Update. I also ran the 'Get Vista ready for sp1' tool on the Microsoft site and then the manual install of sp1. Still got the error code and no install.

  7. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    96
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I think clicking the shutdown button may have interrupted the SP1 download & installation process thru automatic update, Freebooter369.

    another reason why I turn off automatic updates on Vista. updates are more likely to get botched that way, especially SP1.

    I also use a Dell Inspiron 640m/E1405 laptop with pre-installed Vista Basic 32bit edition, updated it to SP1 by using the huge 32bit full all-language standalone Vista SP1 package and had no SP1 installation problems. either the full Vista SP1 standalone packages or the Vista SP1 CDs/DVDs seem to provide the most success when installing SP1.

    in addition to the links Joe provided, here are the links to the standalone Vista SP1 downloads but for all languages:

    Vista Service Pack 1 - All Language Standalone [32bit] 544.3Mb

    Vista Service Pack 1 - All Language Standalone [64bit] 873.0Mb

    consider using a third party download manager like Getright or Download Accelerator Plus to download, pause & resume partial downloads when downloading any one of these huge SP1 packages.
    Last edited by np-7930; 2013-01-25 at 13:04.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •