Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Wireless problem?

    I have a problem I can't solve. I recently change to a wireless connection to internet and one of my computer will not show up in the network.

    I have tried a lot of things, search the internet for a solution and followed various instructions.

    I am using windows 8 pro.

    The Network and sharing center tells me that I am on a Public network which I can't change. My other computers use Home network.

    The troubleshooter says I have trouble with IP-configuration, but I get everything automatically?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    You need to change that Public network to a Home network. See if this helps: http://www.online-tech-tips.com/wind...-in-windows-8/

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks, I tried this. After using the secpl.msc it says Privat but unidentified. I guess my problem is "Ethernet doesn't have a valid IP configuration". But I get everything automatically?

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Is it configured to get everything automatically? Have you checked it?

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes, both IP and DNS. v4 and v6.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Did this ever worked on Windows 8? Were you able to access the internet before?
    What computer brand and model is it?

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes, it works through a cable and with a not wireless router.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Brand and model? Does the wireless adapter detect your wireless network?

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    No, it doesn't. I have only connection to internet if I use a non wierless router.
    It's a
    Gigabyte 965P-DS3 desktop
    Intel 6300
    3 gb

    I have a home network with a Windows 7 Pro and a Windows 8 Pro, both working with the wirwless router (Asus RT-N56U). They are conected by cable to the router.

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Hmmm... I would like to know the brand and model of the computer that cannot connect to the wireless network. Is it a desktop with a Intel Ultimate-N 6300 WiFi adapter?

    Is the adapter recognized by Windows?

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Had you seen Intel recommendations for that wireless adapter?

    http://www.intel.com/support/wireles.../CS-033845.htm

    They recommend the user of the Intel Driver Update Utility, which seems can be downloaded from here: http://www.intel.com/p/en_US/support...reless-display

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The Device Manager:

    Generic Marvell Yukon 88E8055 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller
    Microsoft Kernel Debug Network Adapter

    Yes Windows recognize it and disable and enable it when I use the internet troubleshooter.

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    There is no wireless adapter on that list. I am begging to think your wireless adapter is not being recognized by Windows, which would explain your situation.
    You need to try to add drivers for your adapter. Have a look at my previous post and download the Intel Driver Update Utility.

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks, maybe that's my problem. Maybe I have to buy a network card?

    I didn't find a way to download the driver utility, so i didn't try it. I have to connect the computer through the other router first. is it possible to use both the wirwless and not wireless router at the same time?

  15. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    You have two routers or one router that supports wireless and wired connections? If the latter, yeah, you can computers connecting wirelessly and computers connecting through the wired ports.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •