Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Knoxville, OH, USA
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Can you bypass the normal startup routines?

    Back in NT/XP, etc. you could bypass the startup routines by holding down the shift key (I think it was shift--could have been another key). I have some things that I use nearly every day in my startup routine. On rare occasions, I would like to skip these routines so that I can quickly make configuration changes, etc.

    Is there a way to bypass the startup routines in Windows 7?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Knoxville, OH, USA
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Joe,

    Thanks for replying. The shift overrides automatic logon, but doesn't impact the routines from the startup folder. I'll keep looking.

    Michael

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi Michael,
    this is how I set my pc's to log on. If I'm away from home for more than a day, it only takes seconds to undo, therefore securing my pc. Auto Log-On.pdf
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,748
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Hi Michael,
    this is how I set my pc's to log on. If I'm away from home for more than a day, it only takes seconds to undo, therefore securing my pc. Auto Log-On.pdf
    The question was not about using or not using a password.

    Bruce

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Knoxville, OH, USA
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    What I've done for now is:

    -Log on and let everything start normally.
    -Run AUTORUNS from MS SysInternals to disable the normal startup stuff
    -Log off then back on

    After I'm done with the special work:
    -Run AUTORUNS to re-enable the startup routines
    -Log off then back on

    Cumbersome and time consuming, but it works.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •