4 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Excel 2010 Yields Massive Files

I am a teacher. I keep my grades in an Excel worksheet. For years and years, that spreadsheet ended the semester at about 500K. Last semester, they "upgraded" me from Excel XP to Excel 2010. Ugh! Anyway, the semester has just started and the file is up to 20MB! (I have to save it in compatible mode to use XP at home.) Any idea why Excel 2010 is making it so large and how to get a handle on it?

I tried opening it in Excel XP and resaving and that reduced it to 15MB but no more. There is nothing in the file right now that should make it anywhere near that large.

Ronny
    Ronny Richardson

Thanks
    If you delete all the data and save it as a copy, what is the file size? Do you have any pictures in it?
    Regards,
    Rory

Microsoft MVP - Excel

4 Star Lounger
    Thanks

There are no pictures in the file. It has student names, ID information, and grades. It is a template I have used since 1998. Prior to Excel 2010, the largest the file ever grew to was 1MB. Naturally, the more students I had and the more classes I taught, the larger it got. The average size for 1998-2011 was about 300K.

Last semester, it grew to 13.6MB when I started using Excel 2010 and this semester I has grown to 15.5MB and I have just entered all the names and ID information, no grades yet. I use a standard template and nothing has changed other than using Excel 2010 rather than Excel XP.

I tried saving it in the native Excel 2010 format and it dropped down to 1.6MP as an XLSM file but I don't know if the reduction was due the change in file format itself or the compression built into the XLSM file type. I then closed out Excel, reopened Excel and the XLSM file and saved it as an Excel XP XLS file. That trimmed only a couple of bytes off the file, not enough to make any difference.

Ronny
    Ronny Richardson

Thanks