Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Ordinal 491 missing from DLL library. Urlmon.dll

    Hi

    I've got a small problem. Every time I start chrome, firefox or IE9(broken), a error box pops up telling me that I'm missing Ordinal 491 from the DLL library. Urlmon.dll.

    Things I have tried:

    -Resetting browsers
    -Reinstalling browsers
    -Replacing urlmon.dll in system32
    -Scanned the system using MalwareBytes' Anti-Malware, both in safe mode and normal mode. Full/quick scan.
    -System repair (sfc /scannow). This found files that it could not fix.

    Thanks for reading.
    -Jan

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Jan, Welcome to the Lounge.

    Open an Elevated Command Prompt (search for command then right click and choose Run as Administrator)

    type: chkdsk /r

    Or using your installation disk, choose Repair my PC, use the repair console to open an elevated command prompt. If this does not work you can try to do a Repair Install from the Repair Console.

    This can also sometimes be caused by malware. You might want to run a scan with your favorite AV app, and with MalwareBytes Anti-malware, and /or another good AM app. If it is malware, you might have to do the repairs after eliminating the malware.

    I hope this helps.
    Last edited by Medico; 2013-01-16 at 05:25.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi again.

    The chkdsk did not solve the issue. Unfortunately, I do not have the Windows CD since it was already installed when I bought the PC. I can, however, download windows legally using my MSDNA-account.

    I suspect the error message is caused by the broken IE, somehow, so I've tried to reinstall IE9, but it says I've alredy got it, and all I've got is a non startable, broken IE9.

    As I said, I have ran Anti-malware while in safe mode, and it didnt solve the issue. This problem isnt really critical, but quite annoying

    -Jan

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Did the system originally have IE 9 or IE 8? If IE 8 you can go back to IE 8, then reinstall IE 9.

    You also can grab the Win 7 ISO file and burn it to DVD. Sorry, I did not see you sentence about already running MalwareBytes.

    I have no other ideas at present, sorry.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Try the fixes listed here:'
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/281679

    Jerry

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,579
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Have you tried a System Restore back to a time when it was working correctly?

    Joe

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have tried resetting several times.

    I just reinstalled windows in anger. The problem is gone for now I've now got a s**tload of other problems instead.

    Thanks for your help guys.

    -Jan

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •