Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    190
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Problem resizing partition C

    I have 8MB of unallocated space in front of my C partition. I have tried to resize partition C to incorporate the unallocated space with MiniTool Partition Wizard Home Edition (I have the latest version 7.7), EaseUS Partition Master and Paragon Partition Manager, but without success. I know 8MB is insignificant but I would still like to incorporate this unallocated space into the C partition. If anyone can tell me how to do so I would be grateful.

    Thanks and regards, Roy
    OS Triple Boot Win 7 Pro 64 Bit-SP1 with IE11, Win 8.1 Pro 64 Bit with IE11 & Windows 10 TP (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 930 Times in 851 Posts
    With Partition Wizard, I just grabbed the left border and dragged it left. With that small space you will not see it move, but should see the space below the graph change. Be advised that the actual operation will require a reboot (The app will ask you to reboot) because the info on the partition has to actually be moved while outside of Windows.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    190
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Hi Ted. I did exactly what you said and saw the space below the graph change, clicked apply and rebooted, but when I opened Partition Wizard the unallocated space was still there in front of the C partition. Should I format the unallocated space first, and then try again?
    OS Triple Boot Win 7 Pro 64 Bit-SP1 with IE11, Win 8.1 Pro 64 Bit with IE11 & Windows 10 TP (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

  4. #4
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    2,376
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 238 Times in 190 Posts
    I use BootIt Bare Metal. It can handle that 8MB nub. There is a 30-day fully functional free trial available for download. It's only $39.95 if you decide to buy, and includes loads of extras, including Image For DOS, a drive imaging utility I've used for many years.
    Create a new drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "Let them that don't want it have memories of not gettin' any." "Gratitude is riches and complaint is poverty and the worst I ever had was wonderful." Brother Dave Gardner "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else." Sir Thomas Robert Deware. "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand?" Captain Jack Sparrow.
    Unleash Windows

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,106
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 241 Times in 234 Posts
    I'd leave it alone, you might mess up the partition alignment and get a less optimized drive as a result. It won't be that important with a platter drive but it could be significant if using an SSD. I'm not sure how good old timey DOS is to use these days concerning hard drives unless the name is a moniker only and does not connote inclusion of modern alignment settings.
    Last edited by F.U.N. downtown; 2013-01-17 at 22:38.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 930 Times in 851 Posts
    Roy, I am not sure why it did not work on your PC. That is exactly what I did and it worked fine. As others have said, I would just leave it and ignore it.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    2,827
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 109 Times in 103 Posts
    For interest, GPartEd will try to allocate the C: partition to start on a 1 MiB boundary, presumably for the efficiency purposes noted by F.U.N...
    BATcher

    Dear Diary, today the Hundred Years War started ...

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    226
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    On my PC there is a 40 MB partition that starts at sector 1. The partition is formatted as FAT 16. This may be pertinent information for booting/configuring your system. I would advise against messing with it especially considering the small size.

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    106
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 17 Times in 13 Posts
    Partition Wizard ALSO provides a FREE ISO download that can be burnt to a CD.
    You can Boot that CD and it provides a Linux based variant which does not involve Windows.

    This last for life - not a 30 day trial.

    This should runs without any of the Restrictions that Windows imposes on tools running under Windows.

  10. #10
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Polk City, Florida, USA
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    When I installed Windows 7 HE (using the same media for each of 3 installs), Microsoft allocated a 55MB "OEM" partition in front of the C: partition on one machine, a 100 MB "System Reserved" partition on a 2nd, and a 251MB "OEM" partition on the 3rd. I rarely use theological arguments, but on these machines, I went by "that which God has given, let not man take away." On my Pro machine, there was no such partition allocated. Go figure.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •