Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Upgrade Win2000 server to Win2008 server or leave it alone?

    Have a friend with a Win2k server. Lovely old workhorse. It works, mostly. Windows updates still work. Wonder whether to advise leave as is, or brave upgrading Win2000 to Win 2008 server. Perhaps via WIn2003 R2? If anyone upgraded XP SP2 to XP SP3 way back then, and needed counselling afterwards, then you know why I ask. This was b4 they fixed a messed up upgrade on their update site. (even the Msft asset assigned to my case needed counselling). But still, I'd give it a shot if someone here knew it's reasonably possible.

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 236 Times in 224 Posts
    I do this for a living so this advice may be worthwhile... May not be either ;-))

    I would not upgrade the server, I would replace it with new hardware. There is almost nothing that you cannot migrate easily between servers.
    Do you need to replace the hardware?
    What apps / files are on the server?
    How is the server accessed and by how many machines?
    Are you using a Windows domain?

    cheers, Paul

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    HerRoyalGeekness (2013-01-20)

  4. #3
    5 Star Lounger RussB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    674
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 38 Times in 37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    I do this for a living so this advice may be worthwhile... May not be either ;-))

    I would not upgrade the server, I would replace it with new hardware. There is almost nothing that you cannot migrate easily between servers.
    Do you need to replace the hardware?
    What apps / files are on the server?
    How is the server accessed and by how many machines?
    Are you using a Windows domain?

    cheers, Paul
    Ditto.
    The odds of needing a hardware driver that is not available is not worth the risk, or the time to research them all for that matter, not with the current price of new hardware which will be much faster, maybe even last as long.
    Do you "Believe"? Do you vote? Please Read:
    LEARN something today so you can TEACH something tomorrow.
    DETAIL in your question promotes DETAIL in my answer.
    Dominus Vobiscum <))>(

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to RussB For This Useful Post:

    HerRoyalGeekness (2013-01-20)

  6. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    It's got the RAM and disk space requirements, but I'd want the CPU to be faster, so that's the main thing.... and so would go to a new machine. Have to see what Alienware is up to these days, old habits die hard. I have everything backed up. Reinstalling some of his old programs just won't work. Yes using domains, serves 4-5 clients, and mostly used as a development sandbox, get this, for security camera stuff! A bunch of security camera integrators/companies went out of biz, but their installed base / systems still work just fine, however they require their clients to use old version of Java to work. Yikes! So Win2K is a nice sandbox, but also he's developing a new system since they're tired of going through this every few years. Small operations. Seems he's going to have no choice but to end up with two servers.

  7. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,606
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 620 Times in 555 Posts
    Is he determined to have an in-house server?

    Have you thought of a hosted service like Windows Azure? The linked page is for a 90 day free trial.

    Joe

  8. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 236 Times in 224 Posts
    As you need to retain the installed specialist base I would convert the machine to a VM. Then you can backup it up as a file and restore to a known point at will, on any hardware (VM).
    There are various flavours of free VM (VMware, Xen, etc) or use the same capability in Windows server on the new hardware. This will leave you with only one box but more than one OS.

    cheers, Paul

    p.s. make sure the hardware will run the VM OS of choice.
    Last edited by Paul T; 2013-02-05 at 13:34.

  9. #7
    New Lounger phillipnolan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Disk2vhd and VM's Rock

    I have been using primarily Virtualbox. I have VMs from windows 2000 to Windows 8 and a few flavors of linux running in VM.

    Because of legacy software requirements i have a couple of servers running in VM as well.

    I can say that it works well, is easy to back up and allows running older software on new, higher performance platforms.

    Good Luck.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •