New Lounger
    Thanks

Reformatting and Reinstalling Windows XP Pro SP 3

Hello,
    I'm going to reformat and reinstall windows xp pro sp3 on a laptop. I have the product key for the Windows version but i know that if I reinstall windows sometimes it will say that
    it needs to be validated or that i'm using an illegal version.

Where can I find a version through microsoft of pro to download and what solution can I use to validate the version on the reformatted PC?

Thank you very much,

Commonsense101

Thanks
    Sorry, but as a Computer Tech, I have to ask...... "Why do you want or need to reformat your HD?"

You know, you're also going to loose all the hardware drivers installed on that PC. Do you have all those, on a CD or some other media? Laptop drivers are a not more proprietary and specific than those on most desktops.
    Does that lappy have a restore or recovery partition, with the OS and drivers on it?

I would do almost anything to avoid reformatting and reinstalling windows on a Laptop. Been there, done that!

Cheers Mate!
    The Doctor
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

Thanks
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    CommonSense101,

I'd highly recommend that you take an Image Backup with a product like Macrium Reflect Free BEFORE attempting this task. Don't forget to make the BOOT recovery media also. Then if anything goes wrong in the process at least you can easily recover to the position you were in before you started.

Good Luck, and pay attention to the good Doctor's advice about drivers!

May the Forces of good computing be with you!

RG

PowerShell & VBA Rule!

My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Commonsense101 View Post
    Hello,
    I'm going to reformat and reinstall windows xp pro sp3 on a laptop. I have the product key for the Windows version but i know that if I reinstall windows sometimes it will say that