Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts

    Microsoft defends Security Essentials after "failing" AV-Test certification


  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,401
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    I'm satisfied with what Microsoft said in their blog posting.

    The only thing that creeped me out a bit was "When we explicitly looked for these files, we could not find them on our customers' machines." In other words, they are looking on their customers' machines!

    In my opinion, Fred Langa did the best real-world test of anyone -- he put only MSE on his laptop, and he then went all over the place, connecting everywhere on public wifis. He regularly scanned his laptop with other AV software. After six months of that, he had not been infected once with any malware.

    The only concern I would have about Fred's results is, since he is an IT pro, he certainly has unconscious habits which lead to safer computing than a non-IT person would; this may have skewed his results without him realizing it.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    The only thing that creeped me out a bit was "When we explicitly looked for these files, we could not find them on our customers' machines." In other words, they are looking on their customers' machines!
    Absolutely, MS currently receives telemetric data whenever there is an error code generated. This has been common knowledge for quite some time now.
    It would not be too much of a stretch to see how valuable it can be to garner such information from their own AV/AM software.
    It would seem to be in line with how they occasionally loose and then regain "AV-Test Certified" status.

    This would definitely give MS a leg up over many other AV/AM products in terms of live data based feedback when it comes to tailoring your
    definition updates.
    Last edited by CLiNT; 2013-01-18 at 19:48.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    I don't know if there is an option in Windows 8 defender as I've turned it off but as part of the MSE install, you can opt out of sending data to Microsoft.

    Jerry

  5. #5
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Yes there is, but curiously enough, what I have got selected, I believe is the default setting [??]
    Defender.jpg
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,401
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CLiNT View Post
    Yes there is, but curiously enough, what I have got selected, I believe is the default setting [??]
    Defender.jpg
    I always choose the "Basic" membership. I believe it is the default option.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •