Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Goulais River, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    WinZip Command Line Processor and Windows 8

    WinZip is trying to con me into upgrading from 15.5 to 17 saying that my WinZip Command Line Processeor 3.2 will not run on Windows 8. I'm a little pissed at WinZip putting out new versions every year or so and I only really need the Command Line Processor, especially for it's ability to do incremental backups so easily. Anyone using the Command Line Processor on Window 8 and is it running OK? And, less importantly, can I run WinZip 15.5 on Windows 8?

    Wally

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 932 Times in 853 Posts
    Just switch to 7Zip. It's free and works very well.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,353
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 1,162 Times in 1,069 Posts
    I am running Winzip 17.0 in Windows 8. I wasn't using the command line add-on but I just downloaded it and run a few tests zipping and unzipping and it seems to be running without issues.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Goulais River, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes 7Zip does work, BUT ...

    It does NOT have an incremental backup function!!!

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Goulais River, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes, the command line add-on does work with WinZip 17, BUT the question is does it work with WinZip 15.5!!!

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,353
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 1,162 Times in 1,069 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wally View Post
    Yes, the command line add-on does work with WinZip 17, BUT the question is does it work with WinZip 15.5!!!
    I have 17.0, not 15.5.

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,605
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 619 Times in 554 Posts
    According to WinZip Feature History, WinZip 17.0 is the version that supports Windows 8. Any older version may work but I would not trust it.

    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •