Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,089
    Thanks
    173
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Problem Accessing Microsoft Store

    I went to the Windows 8 start screen and clicked on the store tile, but was told I was not connected to the internet. I was and when I clicked the Internet Explorer tile Internet Explorer opened normally.

    Logging in to my Microsoft account made no difference.

    So, how do I get to the store?
    OS Dual Boot Win 7 Pro 64 Bit-SP1 & IE11 & Win 8.1 Pro 64 Bit & IE11-Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB

    Roy Whitethread

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    9,961
    Thanks
    126
    Thanked 1,100 Times in 1,012 Posts
    Restart the computer and try again.

  4. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    I have had this happen a few times as well. As Rui states, the restart generally fixed the problem. Even though you are connected to the internet, the connection to the MS servers for the store has been dropped. I suppose it's possible the servers get overwhelmed and drop off on occasion.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,089
    Thanks
    173
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Thanks ruirib and Medico. Restarting did the trick, but I was unable to find an update to the Mail app. I read somewhere recently that an update had been released which allowed the use of POP3 accounts. Was the info wrong? If not where do I find the update?
    OS Dual Boot Win 7 Pro 64 Bit-SP1 & IE11 & Win 8.1 Pro 64 Bit & IE11-Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB

    Roy Whitethread

  6. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    9,961
    Thanks
    126
    Thanked 1,100 Times in 1,012 Posts
    If you are not offered an update, then there is none. I am not aware that the app supports POP. I do not use it, anyway.

  7. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    2,607
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 324 Times in 293 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by royw View Post
    I read somewhere recently that an update had been released which allowed the use of POP3 accounts. Was the info wrong?
    Yes:

    The Mail app, which often comes with Windows 8 and Windows RT, doesn't support adding email accounts that use POP (Post Office Protocol).
    If your email account uses POP and you want to access it on your PC, here are some options:

    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...email-accounts

    Bruce

  8. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    On Win 8 Pro, it's just as easy to get your POP mail on the desktop using a mail client such as WLM.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #8
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,211
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 159 Times in 124 Posts
    That's "Windows Live Mail" which comes already installed in Windows 8.

    There is also "Windows Mail" which works just like the old, familiar, "Outlook Express 6"
    but requires some Tweaking to get it to work on W8.
    That's been cussed and discussed in other threads so I won't belabor the subject here.
    But, just let me say, "That's what I use, in W7 and W8, inclusive."

    I set it up to look and run exactly like O.E.6 so when I open my eMail I'm on familiar ground.
    Plus, I can import my address book and stored eMail from O.E.

    Cheers mate!

    The Doctor
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  10. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Medico View Post
    On Win 8 Pro, it's just as easy to get your POP mail on the desktop using a mail client such as WLM.
    Is it also possible with the basic Windows 8 version?
    The one issue I have with going from Win 7 to Win 8, is the lack of POP support on the Win 8 email application.
    Windows Live Mail 2012 currently suits me perfectly.

  11. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    9,961
    Thanks
    126
    Thanked 1,100 Times in 1,012 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Trev View Post
    Is it also possible with the basic Windows 8 version?
    The one issue I have with going from Win 7 to Win 8, is the lack of POP support on the Win 8 email application.
    Windows Live Mail 2012 currently suits me perfectly.
    You can use WLM on the Windows 8 basic version. You will have to download it, of course, just as you need to do in Windows 8 Pro.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

    Trev (2013-02-15)

  13. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    Just go to Windows Essentials, download it, and when you get to the option choose the apps you wish to install. You can install just WLM or more of the suite. For example in my case I installed WLM and Photo Gallery / Movie Maker combo, but passed on all the other options.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    Trev (2013-02-15)

  15. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Excellent, thanks very much for taking the trouble to reply; looks like Windows 8 will be my next 'adventure'.

  16. #13
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    I would spend some time reviewing the Sticky Threads in the Win 8 forum. There are some great tips for making your Win 8 'Adventure' more enjoyable.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  17. #14
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Medico View Post
    I would spend some time reviewing the Sticky Threads in the Win 8 forum. There are some great tips for making your Win 8 'Adventure' more enjoyable.
    Thanks, I already have and I reassured myself that the change was within my rather limited capabilities!

    Great resource you've all created there.

  18. #15
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    Glad we could help. Satisfaction and thanks from those we help is the only tangible gain we have so we do appreciate it when someone notices.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •