Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Win 7 backup

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Morganville, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Win 7 backup

    I have been using the Win 7 built-in backup since I purchased this pc about 1 1/2 years ago. I has worked fine -- until the last few weeks.

    Recently my 2 TB drive (connected with USB 2) showed as full and with a red stripe. Since I knew I was near full capacity I assumed that it had run out of space and I replaced it with a 3 TB drive connected via USB 3 (I also tried USB 2). The back-up runs for several hours and then hangs on something identified simply as a I/O device driver error (or something like that). I checked my device drivers and they are up to date (except I was able to update the display driver). The backup termination error persists.

    I cannot go back to before the January blast updates, which I suspect are implicated in inducing the eror, as the restore points only go back a few days to the last attempt to do a backup. Earlier than that the system restore utility only shows system images, probably because that is a part of system backup with the Windows utility. I have not used system images to restor, but I suspect that I will lose data if I restore that way. [Is my assumption true?]

    Does anyone have a suggestion as to how I can get the back-up utility working again?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Restore an image created just prior to the January updates; It'll be high time you tested image restore.
    Start reconsidering how you are backing up some of your data; I'm sure you could find things that can easily be backed up
    independent of your operating system, and thus lighten the work load for the OS's imaging application.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Morganville, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Does system restore replace just the system files (not data) or are the data lost?

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    No data is lost with System Restore.

    Might I suggest that after getting things back to where you wish them, look into Imaging as a more complete system back up method. There is a ton of info on Imaging in the Maintenance forum.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Morganville, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    sorry

    Sorry -- my error. I meant that I only have system image restore points farther back than a week ago.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    If this is truly an Image, then yes everything (data included) will be reset to the time the image was created. That is the biggest reason I use a separate data partition. In your case, backup all your data before attempting to restore the Image so you can get your data back after you restore the Image.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Morganville, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    another approach?

    Is there another approach? I suspect that I am not the only one who has suffered this problem. I also wonder if it one of the "optional" updates which caused my problem -- I usually install them after the "critical" updates. The backup seems to go for (very roughly) 3/4 GB before it terminates on the i/o error. Perhaps there is one particular update that I can uninstall.

    Thoughts?

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Just start uninstalling the latest batch of updates and see what happens. This brute force approach will take some time, but I seriously doubt anyone can say try this update or that update for your system.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •