Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    471
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    So many popups: how to block them?

    When I go on the internet, I get a lot of pop ups. Are there any programs I can use to stop these?

    Also, every day I get a pop up to update Flash Player

    (URL: http://update85.com/flashplayer/new/....yahoo.com/neo),

    and I am not sure if it is Adobe. Not only do they want to update Flash Player but they also want me to downloand other programs they are offering. That is why I suspect they are not Adobe but are using logos similar to those of Adobe.


    Thank you for any guidance you can give me on this.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    What browser are you using?

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    In IE, Internet Options, Privacy Tab, Pop Up Blocker can be turned on/off, and the settings can be adjusted. Other browsers also have similar pop up blockers. As with malware, they do not stop all pop ups, but do a respectable job.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,411
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked 406 Times in 378 Posts
    http://update85.com/flashplayer/new/....yahoo.com/neo is not Adobe, it's someone else. I would go into my router and block "update85.com".

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Yea, it appears that Flash Player Pro thing is a malware or phishing or something similar. Meant to look like the real Adobe thing, but not real. I would be very leery of it.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    471
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks everyone for your responses. How do I go into my router to block "update85.com".?

    Thank you.

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,411
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked 406 Times in 378 Posts
    I have a Netgear router. I open up a browser window and go to http://192.168.1.1. I log in when prompted. Under "Content Filtering" I choose "Block Sites". I enter the domain name (in your case it would be "update85.com") (without the quotes), click Add Keyword, then click Apply.

    From that point on, if I (or my computer) try to go to that site, I will get a message that the Netgear Firewall has blocked the site.

    It's a similar process in other routers.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Cisco Linksys is the same method to access the router settings. I do not remember the default ID and Password. This article may show this info. I changed my access password once I opened the router access page.

    I believe the area you would need is under the Access Restrictions tab. Internet Access policy enabled. You can enter sites to block here.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,753
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 652 Times in 575 Posts
    How did you get on with removing Flash Player Pro last week?

    Bruce

  10. #10
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    471
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I have Revo Uninstaller Pro. I was able to remove the flash player and all of its left-overs with no problem.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,753
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 652 Times in 575 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by moon1130 View Post
    I have Revo Uninstaller Pro. I was able to remove the flash player and all of its left-overs with no problem.
    And yet you're still getting pop-ups about Flash Player PRO.

    (It would really help if you could differentiate between Flash Player (Adobe) and Flash Player Pro (non-Adobe).)

    Bruce

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    471
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Bruce, it's Flash Player Pro (non-Adobe). I removed some icons that were associated with Free Coupons. Since then, I have not had any occurrence of Flash Player Pro (non-Adobe).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •