Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    155
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Hidden Menus Accessed by Alt Key

    I have just moved to a workstation running Windows 7, from an XP workstation, and I am finding the hidden menus somewhat frustrating. The menus in question are the normal "File" "Edit" "View" etc menus, which now are hidden by default, and revealed by pressing the Alt key.

    Is there a setting in Windows 7 where I can switch these menus back on, so they appear by default, rather than disappear by default?

    Thanks in anticipation.

    Neil

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    If you are talking about on IE, right click an empty area on the address bar and put a check mark in Menu Bar.

    For Windows Explorer I do not know of a method to add a Menu Bar.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,745
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 648 Times in 571 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Medico View Post
    For Windows Explorer I do not know of a method to add a Menu Bar.
    Windows 7 Explorer always has a menu bar, which you can't get rid of.

    But I think Alt for Menus must mean IE9.

    Bruce

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    155
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you Medico.

    That sorted IE, and I have also now found how to recover my menus in Explorer - by ticking "Always show menus" in Tools, Folder Options, View, Advanced Settings.

    Brilliant...!!

    Neil

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    OK, I already had the Always show menus ticked, so I did not see that. Glad I could help with IE.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,335
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 267 Times in 260 Posts
    i think the same check is set by Organize>Layout...Menu Bar from Windows Explorer...I don't know anyone who runs without an explorer menu bar but that's what MS decided to start with, probably because it looked cleaner, though it be far less useful.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •