2013-02-14, 13:04 #1
- Join Date
- Dec 2012
- Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Duplicate email windows 7/Windows live and live mail
I'm not sure when it happened, but its getting old.
I have duplicate email. I orginally started with "live.com"
I got this new laptop in the fall (2012). Is it beacuse Windows Live essentials is loaded as a program?
I don't use any of the other like messenger....or what ever else.
Should I remove Windows Live essentials from running program?
Will I loose exsisting folders I have saved?
Lately i have used hot mail...which updated me to Outlook, and I have no duplicates there.
Suggestions and directions welcome.
Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!
Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!
+ Get this BONUS — free!
Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!
2013-02-15, 06:19 #2
- Join Date
- Dec 2009
- Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
I suggest using Windows Live Mail 2012 http://www.filehippo.com/download_windows_live_mail/
then set it up like this:-
Get a Microsoft Account, i.e. a Hotmail.com account, or the latest version called Outlook.com, and use it to sign-in to WLM. Store all your contacts in your Hotmail.com or Outlook.com account, using .CSV file format to export / import them.
Set the account/s you use to be accessible using POP. My Gmail messages are archived when accessed with POP, so I never lose them unless I delete them. IMAP can also be enabled if you need it to access your account using other applications.
WLM can send / receive from any account, using as many as you need, and you don't have to manually input mail addresses when sending an Email if signed-in.
On signing-in to WL Mail, it will add your Hotmail / Outlook account. When all it's folders have been downloaded, it can safely be removed if you don't want it. Now your account can be added.