Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Bad Internet problems

    Hi there.

    I have a really bad problem on my new computer. I've had it for about 2 weeks and about 4 days ago I started getting serious Internet issues where by certain sites would just never load (by certain sites I mean most sites). I can't download anything either. I have Norton 360 anti virus.

    There are some things I have found out; it is definitely nothing to do with my service provider, as 2 other computers and various mobile phones have no problems at all connecting to the Internet and maintaining a good connection for hours. There also isn't any signal issues. I have full signal.

    Also, I have now performed 2 clean installs of windows 7 and it has done nothing to fix the problem.

    Also, the problem doesn't seem to start happening until after a couple of minutes have passed after machine start up. The Internet is very fast but then suddenly just slows down exponentially, with some sights never loading and eventually telling me page cannot be displayed.

    It is also not browser specific, as I have tried several different browsers and found the same problem.

    Another thing is that it is impossible to download anything when the problem hits - it downloads a few hundred KB and then just stops, later telling me the download could not complete. Just to clarify, when I say the problem 'hits' I mean when the very brief time after computer start up where the Internet works - ends, and the problem sets in.

    I am currently on my iPad because typing all this would be nearly impossible on my computer - as the page would never load.

    Ive been researching the problem for days and one of the most common things i have read about is some kind of hijacking maleware. I read somewhere about Hijackthis so I managed to download it during a brief period where the Internet was working. Don't really know how useful it is. I've also seen a program called malware bytes but have been unable to download yet - again I don't know how useful it is.

    However I have no idea if its even anything to do with malware - just a stab in the dark, desperation really.

    Pleeeeease help me this is basically making my computer useless I paid a fortune for it and the Internet just doesn't work it's awefull.

    Edit: Sorry if this is in the wrong section, I didn't really know where to put it.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Andy,

    You say it is a new computer have you contacted the manufacturer? From what you describe it sounds like a heat related problem with the network card. If the network card is builtin to the motherboard, which it is on most newer MBs, then there is probably a bad trace on the MB that separates when the system builds up some heat. I would definitely contact the manufacturer immediately. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,168
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 134 Times in 115 Posts
    Andyjg, welcome to the lounge!

    It could be a hardware issue as Retired Geek suggests, but if some sites still work, then this is less likely. Also, if data is getting through slowly then the specific hardware failure mode suggested is perhaps not the root cause.

    From your description it could be hardware or software on that machine. You could try dropping in a second network card: they are very cheap and easy to fit. If that also runs slow, then you may have a software issue - specifically a malware infection or perhaps more likely a problem with Norton 360.

    Before adding a second network card, you could boot into safemode with networking and see if it makes a difference. If it does, it may be a a problem with a malware infection, which we can then help you clean up. If safemode with networking doesn't resolve the issue, try removing Norton 360 completely - you can always re-install later if you want and if you are careful the risks are fairly low. By removing Norton 360, you remove the 3rd party firewall which could be causing a problem. This might occur after Norton phones home to get some updates, which could be why you get a short time when the PC is ok and also why some sites load ok too.
    In God we trust; all others must bring data.

    - William Edwards Deming. 1900 - 1993

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Could also be a driver problem. See if there's an updated driver for your network card.

    If Tinto's suggestion to boot into safe mode with Networking works, you could try the Clean Boot diagnostic procedure to zero in on the cause:
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929135

    Jerry

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi guys thanks for the replies.

    Hi RetiredGeek, I understand what your saying, but the computer is built for gaming and therefore has a ridiculous amount of fans. I'm not sure it's going to have heat problems any time soon, especially so soon after the machine initially starts.

    Also, I don't know if this information is relevant, but I'm using a PCI wifi module in the back of the machine. I've contacted the manufacturer, and explained the situation. At this point the most they are doing is sending me a free USB wifi dongle. The PCI is running the latest drivers.

    Hi Tinto Tech, yes some sites still work as normal, for example I have no problem doing a google search or opening youtube. Yes going into safe mode is a good idea, but I don't know how to. The start up isn't conventional. I have an ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3 motherboard, which gives me loads of different options when I start up. I don't know which one is safe mode. In regards to Norton 360, removing it is one of the first things I tried, sorry I should have put that, could've saved you the typing.

    Going back to the malware, I got a chance to download malwarebytes this morning, did a scan, but it found no malware. However I don't know how effective this program is.

    The options I get on start up are these; DEL - BIOS Setup, TAB - Display BIOS POST Message, F8 - Boot Menu, Alt+F2 - Ez Flash 2.

    Hi Jerry, I do not know how to locate the network card. Is it in device manager? The only thing I can see in device manager is my PCI, under network adapters. This is running the latest drivers.

    Thanks again for the replies

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I've had some developments.

    I managed to get it into safe mode and I definitely have less restricted access to the Internet but it is still very difficult to get some sites to load.

    Could this mean a hardware problem? Any advice would be appreciated, thank you.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi guys, more developments.

    Pleease can I have some advice, I feel like I'm narrowing it down. I have just used my iPhone 5 as a personnel hotspot using its 3G, and I got full Internet connection, everything loaded, it all worked like a dream!! Internet on this computer for the first time in a week!!!

    So does that mean it must be an issue with my service provider?

  8. #8
    Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,168
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 134 Times in 115 Posts
    Sorry for the delay in replying...long days at work.

    It could be an ISP issue, but could also be a router issue. What is the precise method of connecting the iPhone to the PC using the hotspot? Do you connect through the same wireless card on the PC - that is, connecting the PC wirelessly to the iPhone via nothing else? If they connect through the same wireless card, but not through the same router (ie the router is not used as a wireless access point), you might have a hardware fault in the router.

    One way to check if there is a routing issues is to run a pathping command: Open a command prompt and enter pathping www.google.com. Note the result and compare the two. Do this when you have a good internet connection on the PC and when you have a problematic connection. Replace www.google.com with a failing host if you wish, but make sure you choose one that is normally good for most people.

    Now, beg, steal or borrow (well, ok don't steal, but you get the idea) a spare router and run the same set of tests. You may find swapping the router fixes the issue.
    In God we trust; all others must bring data.

    - William Edwards Deming. 1900 - 1993

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    133
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 16 Times in 11 Posts
    Recently, I had major internet problems, too. A good example of my problems was similar; I'd get an emailed newsletter, such as CNET or PC World. I'd click on and read an article or two, then couldn't open any more. I tried many methods and different internet settings before finding my problem. Because of another issue, I had gone into "Internet Options", Privacy, and dis-allowed third party cookies. Sounded like something you wouldn't want anything to do with, huh? But by "allowing" third party cookies, it cured all. Worth a try?

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    113
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Dns??

    What about changing DNS servers?

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    211
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 20 Times in 17 Posts

    Arrow Try ethernet!

    Quote Originally Posted by Andyjg View Post
    Also, I don't know if this information is relevant, but I'm using a PCI wifi module in the back of the machine.
    I'm with Tinto Tech in thinking that you may have a wifi connection issue. Rather than fooling around with borrowing/buying, swapping out and configuring another router, though, why not just move your PC close enough to the router to connect it via ethernet cable? If your internet experience immediately normalizes, then you know that the problem is with your wifi connection.

    The next step would be to disconnect the ethernet, then retest via wifi while still in close proximity to the router. If the problem returns, then you may just have a bad router. If the connection is still normal, then there's either something in between your router and your PC's normal location that's causing interference with the wifi signal, or else your router just doesn't have the range needed to reach that location.

    In either case, you might want to look into connecting via a HomePlug setup instead of wifi or getting a wifi extender (I'd recommend the HomePlug setup, but that's your call).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •