Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rockie Mountains
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows XP sp3: Mouse freezes when using Firefox or Explorer

    Subject: Mouse freezes in Firefox
    I have spent hours looking for a solution to my mouse freezing on me at times when I use Firefox or Explorer.. After 15-25 secs it unfreezes, restart does nothing. Win-XP,(sp-3) ASUS (NEW), changed USB inputs no change. I Notice Page file jumps to 500meg when freeze occurs, then resumes normal. I looked at dozens of solutions, none consistently solve the issue. I know, I am not alone with this issue..Microsoft and Mozilla offer nothing.... Nothing fancy on this machine... Office 2003, Adobe Reader, Outlook 2002 sp3, Google Chrome & Silverlight (can't figure out how they showed up),Viruscide - ESET NOD32,

    Suggestions please

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,411
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked 406 Times in 378 Posts
    I think that there is extra activity going on at the moment of the freeze. The mouse freezes because system resources are being hogged by something. Then, when that activity stops, you once again have your mouse. The page file jump seems to confirm my theory.

    Try running Task Manager, and click on the Performance tab. Leave it open when you are in Firefox. Then, when the mouse freezes, see if CPU and Memory usage have jumped way up. That will confirm whether or not my theory is correct.
    Last edited by mrjimphelps; 2013-02-22 at 12:54.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    How much memory doyou have installed? XP needs close to 1 gbyte to run efficiently else you will experience a lot of paging to disk.

    Jerry

  4. #4
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ginovino View Post
    Subject: Mouse freezes in Firefox
    I have spent hours looking for a solution to my mouse freezing on me at times when I use Firefox or Explorer.. After 15-25 secs it unfreezes, restart does nothing. Win-XP,(sp-3) ASUS (NEW), changed USB inputs no change. I Notice Page file jumps to 500meg when freeze occurs, then resumes normal. I looked at dozens of solutions, none consistently solve the issue. I know, I am not alone with this issue..Microsoft and Mozilla offer nothing.... Nothing fancy on this machine... Office 2003, Adobe Reader, Outlook 2002 sp3, Google Chrome & Silverlight (can't figure out how they showed up),Viruscide - ESET NOD32,

    Suggestions please
    Does this only happen while browsing on the internet?
    I have noticed similar behavior while browsing in IE10. So far it does not seem to be related to hardware, but websites, and it
    appears to be completely benign from what I can gather.
    This mouse behavior can be associated with some "not so friendly" websites.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  5. #5
    Star Lounger burger2227's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Why do you need 3 browsers? What kind of mouse do you have? No other programs cause it? Uninstall Java then re-install it. Use Chrome to go there. Chrome installs its own Java.

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts
    Over the past 30 years, I've found many programs that I've had to put in the "Virus" column, because of the way they show up unannounced on one's PC. Chrome is the latest.
    Almost every day (that I'm running PC service calls) I'm taking Chrome off of people's PC's. They don't know what it is or where it came from. Get rid of it!

    Never have two browsers running at the same time, unless you're running a Super Computer.

    To run XP and several programs at the same time, 2 gig's of ram is the sweet spot. Sure XP will run with less, but you may see lock-ups and delays exactly like what you're complaining of.

    Stopping all the stuff that likes to load on boot-up is the next step.
    Then:

    Shorten the Boot Time in XP, Vista & Windows 7/8

    Go to the start button, choose run, then type msconfig and press Ok.
    On the system configuration window, choose Boot tab.
    Check No Gui Boot, then lower the timeout to a more manageable time.
    I choose 3 seconds. (that's the shortest time Windows will allow)
    Next choose advanced options.
    This is where you can choose how many processors you have.
    Most modern PC's are duo core (2 processors) with some quad core (4 processors)
    then choose OK.
    Now choose apply and OK, reboot and you should see a marked decrease in boot time.


    I know I could fix your problem, because that's what I do for a living. But I'd have to be there with all my
    tweaks and tune-up scripts, batch files, etc.

    Run MSCONFIG, and de-select everything in the Startup list that you don't absolutely HAVE to have running at boot up.

    After you've cleaned all the junk files out of your hard drive, you should run a Defrag on it. A clean and well organized HD runs much more efficiently.

    good luck!
    The Doctor
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  7. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to DrWho For This Useful Post:

    bonalba (2013-04-25),brino (2013-02-25)

  8. #7
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Next choose advanced options.
    This is where you can choose how many processors you have.
    Most modern PC's are duo core (2 processors) with some quad core (4 processors)
    then choose OK.
    Although it won't hurt, this will do nothing to reduce boot time. See http://www.withinwindows.com/2008/08...with-msconfig/

    Jerry

  9. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rockie Mountains
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ok here is what I found.... my machine has a AMD Athlon 2 x2 250 board with 3.2GB of Ram. Total paging memory is 3.3 gb.

    When I open Internet Explorer, it uses 78mb..... When I open Firefox it jumps to 103mb !!!!! Sometimes more. I removed all reference to Google Chrome. So now I just have Explorer 8 and Firefox 13.0...... When I removed Chrome.... things picked up a bit.... but it still hangs more than I'd like it too.........More so in Firefox , than Explorer...... and Yes it only happens when I am surfing the net ( or so it seems). Hope that helps.

  10. #9
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Again, it sounds like you need more memory.

    Jerry

  11. #10
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    You should have more than enough memory for Windows XP. Increase you PF size to 4-6GB, or Windows recommended.
    Try going to the control panel and removing some memory intensive applications.
    The event viewer should also be queried for errors and issues. You can start by lining up time stamps for when the freezing starts.
    In the end sometimes XP just needs a CLEAN start, as in clean installation.
    Last edited by CLiNT; 2013-02-26 at 22:02.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  12. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,335
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 267 Times in 260 Posts
    Yeah, definitely something more than memory swap going on, I presume you've disabled any realtime virus scanning that might be inspecting every packet downloaded?
    Even if there was some swapping, normally it would only be a slight hesitation when browsing. I only have 1.5 gig and I'm rendering AND converting video, and surfing is as smooth as can be using Firefox; six or seven tabs open at least all the time.

  13. #12
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Sorry. I missed that you have 3gbytes of memory, more than enough for XP.

    Jerry

  14. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Yarra Glen, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    213
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 39 Times in 25 Posts
    Download and install "What's My Computer Doing", and have it running in the background. Immediately the mouse frees up, open the WMCD window and click the Freeze button. It might take a few tries, but with any luck you will see whatever it was that was hogging resources. Download from http://www.itsth.com/en/produkte/Whats-my-computer-doing.php?fromwmcd .

  15. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Gee guys, you are all staring the problem in the face and not seeing it. Ginovino, you are running Internet Explorer and Firefox simultaneously and that is your problem. I don't understand why you would want two browsers open at the same time. If you want to open more than one webpage at a time, use your tabs and last but not least, junk Internet Explorer and stick with Firefox or Chrome.

  16. #15
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Having two browsers aren't a big deal in terms of resources, even having them open at the same time wouldn't have the effect the OP is relating.
    The only way one is going to experience difficulty is if both browsers are open and running many many tabs at once with each browser.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •