Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Palacios, TX
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    cannot unlock task bar or make changes in Start menu properties

    (Win 7 - 64) I recently was hit with the DOJ "computer locked" hack. I followed the u-tube video instructions and restored my PC to an earlier date. This solved the issue, everything is back to normal, except I cannot make changes to the Start Menu props or unlock the Task Bar. I also ran the MalwareBytes program which removed three instances of malware. Also ran a Vipre deep scan.

    I have checked the registry section regarding keys which might be locking these items, but found none. Would appreciate any ideas regarding how to approach this issue. Would creating another user account help? I thought about creating another account, signing out and signing in under that account. Would that boot Win 7 back to the default settings for the Start Menu and Task Bar? (so I could change them?)

    Thanks for any ideas.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    116
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Press WinLogo Key+R, type: GPEdit.msc

    See the properties of the "Lock The Taskbar" item at

    User Config./Admin Temp./ Start menu and Taskbar/

    You are probably set to 'enabled'

    Note: GPedit is not available on Windows Home Premium.

    Also, make sure your User ID is part of the Administrators group.

    If neither of these work try fixing a corrupt profile:
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...d-user-profile


    Jerry

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Palacios, TX
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Jerry. I will try the link. I already looked in the group edit area, but all of the settings are set to "not configured." I will report back regarding the link...

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    NOTE: GPedit is not available on Home versions of Windows only Pro or Enterprise.

    Joe

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    116
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    NOTE: GPedit is not available on Home versions of Windows only Pro or Enterprise.

    Joe
    I made the same note in my post.

    Jerry

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Palacios, TX
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks, guys, I have win 7 Pro 64. I have already looked at the settings in gpedit. All the settings are set to "not configured." Also looked in registry (cursory looking) at keys related to locking the Start Menu and Task Bar. I saw no keys that related to the issue...

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Palacios, TX
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I will report back after trying the fix you recommended
    Last edited by Medico; 2013-02-28 at 19:37. Reason: Removed broken link

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •