Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Ventura, California, USA
    Posts
    54
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Access Upsize Error (Access 2000 SR-1)

    I am trying to use the Upsize Wizard on an Access 2000 database, going to SQL Server 2000.
    I constantly get the following Errors for each table selected: "Table was skipped, or export failed".

    I was able to successfully export a single table, but I can't figure out the difference.
    I'd appreciate some help/ guidance.

    <img src=/S/broke.gif border=0 alt=broke width=31 height=23>

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Access Upsize Error (Access 2000 SR-1)

    Are these tables local to the Access front-end? If they're linked it won't work. Are any of these system tables? You can't upsize those and wouldn't want to anyhow. You'll have to provide more specific information to get more help.
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Ventura, California, USA
    Posts
    54
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access Upsize Error (Access 2000 SR-1)

    The tables are back-end tables, but I'm upsizing from the actual Access back-end database (so they're local). None of them are system tables.
    Thanks for your help, Charlotte.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Access Upsize Error (Access 2000 SR-1)

    Well, one known cause for that is apostrophes in any table or query name. You can find information on that in <A target="_blank" HREF=http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/articles/q216/2/18.asp>ACC2000: Tables Not Upsized When Query/Table Name Has Apostrophe [Q216218]</A>
    Charlotte

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Access Upsize Error (Access 2000 SR-1)

    I have also had this failure a number of times with the 2K upsizing wizard - it will upsize most of the tables but leave 3 or 4 it says it can't upsize. And in only one case did we find something weird with a field name - a strange character - but I don't remember what it was. If you discover any root causes, please share them with us. Thanks.
    Wendell

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Ventura, California, USA
    Posts
    54
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access Upsize Error (Access 2000 SR-1)

    Nope, no apostophes or other weird characters in table or field names.

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Access Upsize Error (Access 2000 SR-1)

    Did you try decompiling, recompiling and compacting the database first? I know there's no code in the backend, but code isn't the only thing that gets cleaned up by a decompile/recompile.
    Charlotte

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •