Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Restrict actions to a section or bookmark

    There should be a way to select an entire section or bookmark quickly. In parts of my document there are lists of names, some very unusual. I would like to select the section, bookmark, or whatever, that contains these names, and prevent Spellcheck from bugging me every time I open the doc. There should also be a way to prevent the section or text in the bookmark from changing. (The normal protect facility protects parts that are NOT selected. This is the opposite of what I want.

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    690
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 66 Times in 56 Posts
    You can create a character style with the language setting Do not spell check and apply it to parts of your document.

    You can select the bookmark (or other text/items) and group it (Developer tab > Controls section > Group > Group). The grouped passage cannot be edited. When the cursor is in a grouped passage, formatting icons and selections are grey. If you try to change (insert, delete, move etc.) anything in the grouped passage, Word sounds a tone and in the status bar shows this message: "This modification is not allowed because the selection is locked".
    It only works with W2007-2013 documents. There's no password. Determined users may figure out how to ungroup or even delete it and retype. But it can deter accidental changes.
    Pam Caswell

  3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to PamCaswell For This Useful Post:

    Andrew Lockton (2013-03-04),janbphd (2013-03-04)

  4. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,852
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 259 Times in 239 Posts
    Nice tip Pam - I've never considered grouping paragraphs of text as a way of locking content.
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

  5. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Northridge, California, USA
    Posts
    230
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Hi, Pam,

    That really is a great tip -- something that wouldn't have occurred to me. (But then, my understanding of content controls is somewhat limited.)
    Author, Formatting Legal Documents With Microsoft Word 2016,
    Formatting Legal Documents With Microsoft Word 2010​,
    and Formatting Legal Documents With Microsoft Office Word 2007

    For Word and WordPerfect tips, visit my blog at http://compusavvy.wordpress.com

  6. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    As the original "asker," I also heartily thank Pam Caswell. Steve Gray

  7. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
    Is there any way to detect if content is grouped? The problem I've had with the "Group" function is that it is an invisible attribute, with no apparent ways to find it or go to it. Even if you select everything and then group and ungroup it, the original grouped content still stays set as grouped. I'd like to see a new option in the GoTo dialog or the Select Browse Object button at the bottom of the vertical scoll bar to be able to jump to and "ungroup" content as needed.

  8. #7
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    690
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 66 Times in 56 Posts
    Yes, Eric, that's troubled me too. in addition to the Ungroup command in the Developer's tab, you can right click in a grouped passage and left click Remove content control. I like your idea for the GoTo dialog.

    I use this sometimes to keep me from changing certain text while I edit. I haven't used content controls much either. When the US government stops requiring W2003 files for proposals, maybe I'll get to use them.
    Pam Caswell

  9. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    922
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    If you turn on Design Mode (Developer tab), you'll see the group in a blue frame.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to richardbarrett For This Useful Post:

    PamCaswell (2013-03-15)

  11. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    One more thing along the same lines: there should be an efficient way to select hundreds of pages quickly, but I notice that if I select the first part of the section and use the Navigation pane to go to its end, the usual shift-select does not work to select everything in between. Same for searching for something at the end. I don't know why they did this - unless there is some way around it.

  12. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,852
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 259 Times in 239 Posts
    'They' did this because using the navigation pane to go to another section does what most people expect - it goes there. If you don't know why they did this then you might not have discovered yet how annoying it is for content to become selected just because you move the cursor.

    If you wanted to extend the selection WHILE you were going there then you could press F8 (to turn on Extend Selection mode) before using the navigation pane. When you want to stop the Extend Selection mode you can press Esc.
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

  13. #11
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    690
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 66 Times in 56 Posts
    One more thing along the same lines: there should be an efficient way to select hundreds of pages quickly, but I notice that if I select the first part of the section and use the Navigation pane to go to its end, the usual shift-select does not work to select everything in between. Same for searching for something at the end. I don't know why they did this - unless there is some way around it.
    For W2003, 07, & 10, use outline view to select whole sections. If you want to select everything under a main heading, select it and its subheadings, making sure to include the paragraph mark in the selection. If its subheadings are not showing, selecting a heading and its paragraph mark will select the heading and everything under it until the next heading of the same or higher level. When you switch back to print layout view, you'll see that the whole section is selected.

    For W2010 and 13, you can use the navigation pane to do this. Right click in a headings and left click select heading and content.

    You can also move headings in both features by dragging, as well as promote and demote them. These features are actually looking for paragraph outline levels. That means you can do these things with custom too.
    Last edited by PamCaswell; 2013-03-16 at 00:38.
    Pam Caswell

  14. #12
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Cool Grouping did not prevent editing

    Word 2010: I selected a paragraph and did Developer > Controls > Group > Group and then Developer > Design mode. The text I selected was outlined in blue. But editing was still possible inside the outline. What am I missing?

    Steve Gray
    Last edited by MrBip; 2013-03-15 at 23:11. Reason: correction

  15. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,852
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 259 Times in 239 Posts
    You can edit the grouped text in when you are in Design Mode, try turning off Design Mode first.

    Note that this grouping of text is not complete protection from clever users - it only stops 99% of us from editing the content.
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

  16. #14
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    That works, but I wonder why MS made it so you can't see what's protected? Anyway, thank you.

    Steve

  17. #15
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MrBip View Post
    That works, but I wonder why MS made it so you can't see what's protected?
    I agree. Grouped text would be easier to manage and use with an option like the one that displays field code content with a gray background (Word Options > Advanced > Show document content > Field shading).

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •