Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Old Dell Ispiron 1150 Laptop - Reinstallation

    I have an old Dell Inspiron 1150 laptop that my dad would like to use as a back up for his new laptop. It needs a complete installation, but when I put the disk in it comes back with No bootable devices. If I look at the Set Up Page the Primary Hard Disk Drive says 0 none found.

    Can anyone tell me how I rectify this.

    PS.....I have taken the hard disk drive out and put it back in again, as that was fix suggested on a different site, but it didn't work.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Sounds like a failed Hard Drive.

    Jerry

  3. #3
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    I'll 2nd what Jerry has said... the HDD has failed.

    Cheers,
    Drew
    Win8Logo (2013_02_06 10_30_24 UTC).jpg

  4. #4
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,413
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Do you have a USB external hard drive "caddy" into which you could put the drive, to see if it can be accessed via another system?
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    jwitalka & Drew1903, Thanks for your replies.

    BATcher, No I don't have a USB external hard drive caddy.

    Think I will give this laptop up for dead. Not worth spending money or any more time on it now.


    Thanks again.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    mrjimphelps, Thanks for your reply (although for some reason it's not shown here. I got a notification by email)

    I tried your suggestion: It may be that the OS got hosed on the hard drive, and you have it set to boot first from the hard drive.

    Go into Setup, and set it to boot first from the CD Rom, and try it again, with your Windows install disk in the CD Rom drive. You might get lucky.

    No good. OS seems to be downloaded, but when I click to say install it, it comes back with no hard rive.

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,396
    Thanks
    445
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BobbyBlueSong View Post
    mrjimphelps, Thanks for your reply (although for some reason it's not shown here. I got a notification by email)

    I tried your suggestion: It may be that the OS got hosed on the hard drive, and you have it set to boot first from the hard drive.

    Go into Setup, and set it to boot first from the CD Rom, and try it again, with your Windows install disk in the CD Rom drive. You might get lucky.

    No good. OS seems to be downloaded, but when I click to say install it, it comes back with no hard rive.
    I deleted my posting after I reread your original post -- you said that in Setup, the drive was not found. If the BIOS can't see the drive, then there isn't much point in trying to proceed with a Windows install.

    To confirm whether or not the drive is bad, you might try the following:

    1. Try a different hard drive cable.

    2. Try a different port on the motherboard.

    3. Install the hard drive in a different computer, to see if it works there.

  8. #8
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    "3. Install the hard drive in a different computer, to see if it works there."

    If it can't be seen when connected to a different machine, then that will confirm the HDD has failed.

    Also, put your hand on the HDD... if you feel no vibration it is not spinning.

    Cheers,
    Drew
    Win8Logo (2013_02_06 10_30_24 UTC).jpg

  9. #9
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,396
    Thanks
    445
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    If it fails in a different computer, be sure to try a different hard drive cable. Could be the cable.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    It's a laptop. It doesn't use a cable.

    Jerry

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for replies. Will try these tomorrow.

  12. #12
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,396
    Thanks
    445
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    It's a laptop. It doesn't use a cable.

    Jerry
    I REALLY need to do a better job of reading the original post!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •