Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    New Lounger
    Thanks

Windows 7 starts by itself when connected to ethernet cable

Greetings all,

I am new to Windows Secrets Lounge and this is my first post:

I have three PCs running windows 7 (a laptop running 7 pro 64bit, a desktop running pro 32bit and a desktop running 7 home premium 32bit). When these PCs are plugged into a Cat5 ethernet cable they wake up from sleep, hibernate and shutdown mode by themselves. I have tried to uncheck the "allow this device to wake the computer" checkbox in the device manager for the network adaptor of each computer but this has no effect.

Can someone point me in the right direction as to how to troubleshoot this? My PCs running XP pro don't have this issue--it appears to be something about Windows 7. Perhaps there is something to be set in my router? I am running a Netgear WNDR4500.

Thanks

Thanks
    After they have gone into hibernation and powered down, you should be able to wake them up by pressing the power button. Once you get them fully awake, disable hibernation:
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/920730

and sleep modes:
    http://www.newyorkcomputerhelp.com/b...puter-service/

New Lounger
    Thanks
    Thanks for the reply mrjimhelps

A couple of thoughts:

1. This accours even when shut down

2. I do not want to disable hibernation or sleep if I can avoid it.

3. It does not occur if I unplug the cat5 cable and it does not occur when using WIFI

I am wanting to understand what causes this behavior if you have any other thoughts or leads that would be great

Thanks again

Thanks
    There has got to be something coming in on that ethernet. I have a desktop with Win 7 connected full time to an ethernet cable that does not exhibit this phenomena. What type of router do you use? Could there be something set up on the router?
    Last edited by Medico; 2013-03-06 at 06:11.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted