Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 59
  1. #31
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I have windows 7. Originally I had home premium, but I had to restore images several times. My PC had not come with a windows disk (how can that be legal?), so I was worried about a total loss. I bought and installed 7 ultimate. As I write this, the machine is dragging along, not doing much of anything. Right-click on a file, and it takes between 5 & 10 seconds before you get the menu up. I have a whole batch of files which keep encrypting themselves - I have *never* used encryption on my systems. I have gone the through the laborious task of setting them as not to encrypt several times. Couple of days later, off they go again.

    I really don't want to have to reinstall, because of the BS I was talking about earlier, having to reload every program on the system. It is beginning to look like I need to. I have run several 'cleanup' utilities, and let them fix the problems they found. I have run ReImage, which is supposed to ensure that all windows system files are correct. That was about 3 days ago, yet here I still am.

    If I didn't have a large investment in windows software, I would be telling microsoft where they can stick their lame duck!

    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    That may have been the case in pre-XP days. I still run XP systems with no apparent issues which have been running for years. I've never reloaded a Vista, Windows 7, or Windows 8 system just because it is Windows.

    Joe

  2. #32
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    9,915
    Thanks
    126
    Thanked 1,098 Times in 1,010 Posts
    You could try a non destructive repair install. Nothing will be lost and it is usually successful. My Windows 7 desktop run into several issues and a repair install fixed them all.

    Of course, I am admiting you have run av scans, etc.

  3. #33
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Yes, I have run av scans. One of the problems I have is that the anti-malware service executable is running constantly, and using up around 20% of my processor.

    I have been looking at the link you sent, and it may help. One potential problem is that I just installed an SSD for my C drive. To make sure I could fit the partition on it, I moved a lot of my program files, user account stuff, to a different drive. The instructions say to restore all that to the default before running the repair, but I don't have enough room on C to do this.

    Thanks for the input, though. At least there is a chance I can get it to work.

    Phil.

    Quote Originally Posted by ruirib View Post
    You could try a non destructive repair install. Nothing will be lost and it is usually successful. My Windows 7 desktop run into several issues and a repair install fixed them all.

    Of course, I am admiting you have run av scans, etc.

  4. #34
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    9,915
    Thanks
    126
    Thanked 1,098 Times in 1,010 Posts
    That situation with the malware service is bad. Maybe try uninstalling it and then install it again. Not sure what free apps are best, as I use a paid anti-malware app.

    Sorry about the C: drive, one of the major caveats of moving files from the usual places is the inability to upgrade (or reinstall Windows). Doesn't really make much sense, but that's how things are.

  5. #35
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Queensland
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Possibly the surest way to muck up Windows.

    I am a Computer Consultant (since 2003). After Microsoft released Vista I wrestled with UAC for a while but after a time realized that it is actually a very effective security feature.
    Every now and then I come accross a Vista/Win7/Win8 PC with (usually serious) problems that has been running for some time with UAC turned off. In almost all cases the problems were so severe reinstalling Windows was the only sensible option; in some cases a repair-reinstall might work.
    Rarely it might be necessary to temporarily turn off UAC for some reason, however I cannot remember the last time I needed to do so.
    Windows' "permissions" system might seem confusing and illogical to someone used to other OS, but it does work, and I very seldom need to alter the default settings (apart from for networking purposes).
    As for deleting files which refuse to be deleted, you could open a command prompt ("Run as administrator") and run the "DEL" (for individual files) or "REMDIR" (for folders) commands.
    Back in the days of Win95 I became very disillusioned with Windows, so switched to Red Hat Linux for a time, then Mandrake for a few months. But I returned to Windows after 98SE was released because I had decided to study for my University degree.
    It is hard to see the logic in knocking Windows just because you are having (most likely) self-inflicted problems. If Windows is really so bad then just why is it that such a large percentage of the world uses it?

    Edit: whoops! "RMDIR" not "REMDIR" - in the command prompt type "RMDIR /?" for a list of available switches.
    Last edited by tibrogargan; 2013-03-15 at 01:07. Reason: spelling error

  6. #36
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    I have successfully used GrantAdminFullControl to Take Ownership of files refusing to be deleted. GrantAdminFullControl seems to be Take Ownership on steroids.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #37
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks, I'll give it a try.

    Phil.

    Quote Originally Posted by Medico View Post
    I have successfully used GrantAdminFullControl to Take Ownership of files refusing to be deleted. GrantAdminFullControl seems to be Take Ownership on steroids.

  8. #38
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I might suggest that you read the earlier posts on the thread before posting... I tried deleting from a command prompt; it didn't work. I tried it as administrator; it didn't work. I took ownership of the files, and tried it again; it still didn't work.

    Just because a lot of people are stuck with windows, it doesn't mean it is any good. To most people, they have no idea that there is anything else out there. They get a computer to do emails, or surf for porn, or whatever. The windows interface is just the way that the computer talks to them. Ask them about trying another OS, and you just get blank looks.

    I would love to know how I could have caused this problem. I do run as administrator, and if I am stupid enough to delete something important, that's my hard luck. I don't go digging around in the registry, or changing things just for the sake of it. I took a copy of my windows partition before putting in an SSD to replace it, as I wasn't totally trusting the cloning app which came with the SSD. The upgrade worked, I went back to delete the extra stuff, windows decided I couldn't be trusted to do that. How do you think I could do that? Currently, I have the "antimalware service executable" running constantly, and eating up between 15 and 30 percent of my processor cycles. Any guesses as to how I could have done that?
    I may be clever, but I am not *that* clever! It won't allow me to kill the process - despite being administrator, which is where we came in...

    I would change to some flavour of linux tomorrow, if I didn't have a large investment in windows software. You are entitled to love windows if you wish; everyone is entitled to their opinion. It's a free country, or so they say.

    Phil.

  9. #39
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,151
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 558 Times in 498 Posts
    From your description in posts #1,#3, & #5 I take that to mean you installed the SSD & reinstalled Windows. When you re-installed the OS your user was assigned a different internal id than it had before. Even though it looks the same because the external name is the same it is not the same user. So, the owner of the files that had been copied or created on the other drives was a different user to Windows.

    Starting with Vista and continuing forward a user who is a member of the administrative group may do more things on the PC than a standard user but is not given complete unfettered access to the PC as it was in XP . This was done to prevent users from trashing their PCs accidentally. UAC forces the user to respond that they realize what is going on. Users still must abide by NTFS permissions.

    You can always activate the "Administrator" account and login as "Administrator" if you want a higher default clearance level.

    Joe

  10. #40
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    No, I didn't have to reinstall windows after installing the SSD. I cloned my C drive to the SSD, then physically installed it, and that was it. The software which came with the drive took care of switching drive letters, making sure that the pc would boot from the SSD, and that was it. I didn't change anything to do with user names or accounts.

    I already *am* the administrator. There is no other login - I tell a lie, there is "desktopservicesuser". There is no administrator account.

    Here is what I get when I say I want to change my login type:Image 078.jpg

    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    From your description in posts #1,#3, & #5 I take that to mean you installed the SSD & reinstalled Windows. When you re-installed the OS your user was assigned a different internal id than it had before. Even though it looks the same because the external name is the same it is not the same user. So, the owner of the files that had been copied or created on the other drives was a different user to Windows.

    Starting with Vista and continuing forward a user who is a member of the administrative group may do more things on the PC than a standard user but is not given complete unfettered access to the PC as it was in XP . This was done to prevent users from trashing their PCs accidentally. UAC forces the user to respond that they realize what is going on. Users still must abide by NTFS permissions.

    You can always activate the "Administrator" account and login as "Administrator" if you want a higher default clearance level.

    Joe

  11. #41
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    There *is* no administrator account. Just me. I will attach a screen capture of what I get if I say I want to change account types. According to this, adminstrator-level accounts have full access to everything, and can make any changes. If I tell windows I want to change user ids, the only option which comes up, is me.
    Image 078.jpgImage 078.jpg

    Also, I didn't reinstall windows after getting the SSD. I used the software which came with it to clone the C drive, and assign drive letters to make sure that the SSD was the boot drive. I didn't make any changes to user accounts.

    I don't like microsoft 'nannying' me, telling me that I am not allowed to change *my* settings on *my* PC. By all means, let them have their UAC stuff, to prevent the masses from destroying themselves, but there should be a way to totally bypass all of this for those users who wish to do so.

    (this message may appear twice, or at least the contents. I tried to check that the file had uploaded, and when I came back to this page, the reply had vanished.)

  12. #42
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,151
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 558 Times in 498 Posts
    I know this seems like a broken record but you are not the "administrator". Your account is an administrator type account, a member of the admin group. Note the last sentence in the comment about an adminstrator type account.

    See Enable the (Hidden) Administrator Account on Windows 7 or Vista.

    I understand the frustration of long time Windows users. I had them myself at first. Now, I seldom see a UAC prompt. You are able to change the settings on your PC. It is just more complicated than it used to be.

    Not sure how it happened but what you describe is the product of your account's internal id being changed.

    Joe

  13. #43
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I just tried this. There *is* a password, and since I didn't know anything about this, I certainly didn't create a password on it... Ok, I managed to reset the password and I was able to change user to administrator. I called up task manager, and tried to stop the MsMpEng process. Guess what?
    "action failed - permission is denied".

    If all this is a result of my internal id being changed, is there anything I can do to change it back? Or fix this some other way?

    The malware beastie is running at about 20% of cpu time. Most things work reasonably well, but windows explorer is almost unusable. There is a delay of about 10 seconds (really!) between clicking on an icon and anything happening. I have a copy of Avira anti-virus on here, which I use for XP mode. I can always install that, but that doesn't solve the problem of why MSE is going berserk. There are a ton of messages about the same problem in google, going back to 2009 that I saw. None of the answers help much, though. MSE had great reports from the people here on Windows Secrets, and I have used it since I had Vista.

    I have spent most of my PC time for the past 3 or 4 days just working on getting this sorted, instead of doing the work that I want to be getting on with... I am getting very frustrated!

  14. #44
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Going to reply to my own message here...

    I think I have it. I just spent some time digging around with ProcessMonitor, and discovered that the malware program is *constantly* accessing a log file belonging to Acronis. It is produced by the sync agent process under True Image 2013. I killed the agent, and my machine is back to normal. Of course, I don't know if that process will affect my backup processes, but I'll just have to wait and see. It will be a shame if I can't use True Image, because they finally have a version which actually works worth a damn. It does it's image backups in the background, with none of this 'boot to CD first' BS. You do have to boot to a rescue disk to restore a backup, but it has actually worked twice for me.

    I am running their trial version, so at least if it doesn't work without that process, I haven't lost my money on the deal.

    Guys, I want to thank you all for your suggestions. If I was getting a bit ratty, well, I'm sorry. I just invested my tax rebate in upgrades to the PC, and it seemed to be going backwards for the past few days.

    Ok, on to the next problem!

    Phil.

  15. #45
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Spoke too soon... :-( I right-clicked on my dvd drive this afternoon, and then went back to work. That was at 1:30. It is now 5:25, and the context menu has not opened yet. That must be something of a record!

    I started indexing off again, in case it was the lack of an index which was holding it up. That has also been running for 4 hours or so. Currently it says 144,809 items indexed, and that speed is reduced due to user activity... How could it possibly go any slower???

    Phil.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •