Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Faifax, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    542
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Split DB = Missing Tables!? (A2K 9.0.4402 SR-1)

    I split my database so I have A.mdb & A_be.mdb.

    I copy both files to a new directory, and change the name of the original _be to xA_be.mdb so Access cant find them. I am hoping that Access will ask me where the file is when i open the copy of A.mdb, but instead, it just says it cant find the file that contains the linked tables. The Linked File Manager is grayed out, so I cant even get to the new file.

    So how do i distribute a split database, if the tables cant be found?

    Note that the startup is to the main switchboard. Does this make any difference?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Split DB = Missing Tables!? (A2K 9.0.4402 SR-1)

    Access won't ask you where it's linked tables are because it thinks it knows - then when you try to open a table you get an error message. So either you need the Linked Table Manager - not clear why it's grayed out - or you need to write a bunch of code to refresh your link paths. Have you done anything more than set the start-up form to the switchboard? If so, the menu may have been disabled. You might try starting up while holding down the SHIFT key so the startup stuff is bypassed - unless you've set that to not work either! In any event I did three different DBs yesterday and linked front and backends in all three so it has to be something environmental with your situation.
    Wendell

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Faifax, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    542
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Split DB = Missing Tables!? (A2K 9.0.4402 SR-1)

    Skipping startup was a good idea, because it gives me the chance to relink the tables.

    BUT... the startup parameters i specify seem innocuous: An application title, Display the switchboard, and uncheck Display Database Window. I wrote no startup code. <img src=/S/brickwall.gif border=0 alt=brickwall width=25 height=15>

    Environmental? What should i look for?

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Faifax, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    542
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Split DB = Missing Tables!? (A2K 9.0.4402 SR-1)

    Since the table 'Switchboard Items' could not be found, the switchboard hung.

    Lesson I learn from this: when splitting a database, make sure the Switchboard Items tables remains in the mdb, whereas the OTHER tables go into the back end.

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Split DB = Missing Tables!? (A2K 9.0.4402 SR-1)

    Use a consisten directory structure through all your 'rollouts'.

    ie. always put your databases that contain data in c:databasedata for example

    This reduces the administrative overhead because all your rollouts exist on users machines in the same location and it means you can standardise your databases when distributing then (ie. to always point to c:databasedata

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Faifax, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    542
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Split DB = Missing Tables!? (A2K 9.0.4402 SR-1)

    Excellent idea! I will institute this immediately.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •