Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Star Lounger Ibex's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Melbourne, Austrlalia
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Is RAM a secret with Vista?

    Hi
    I tried to check on my RAM a few times and always get a rebuff. The procedure I go through is:

    Start (button) -> Control Panel -> System and Maintenance -> System

    The result that I keep getting is: Memory (RAM): Not Available

    OK, it just might be that RAM information is as elusive as the Higgs Boson. Nobody has actually detected the Higgs, but they say that it has been varified by indirect means. So what indirect means can I use to find the RAM of my Vista machine?
    Thanks for your time

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,731
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 543 Times in 491 Posts
    See if the answer given in this thread helps:
    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...a-8e27519cd304

    Jerry

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    Ibex (2013-04-02)

  4. #3
    Star Lounger Ibex's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Melbourne, Austrlalia
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    No that didn't do anything. I'm constantly seeing why Vista is such an unpopular OS.

  5. #4
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,432
    Thanks
    128
    Thanked 494 Times in 454 Posts
    Try msinfo32.

    There are also plenty of memory reporting 3rd party applications out there, like CPUZ.
    The BIOS can also be utilized to display your total RAM.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Windows 8.1, 64 bit
    Motherboard: DX58SO2*Chipset: X58 Express/Intel ICH10*BIOS: SOX5820J.86A.0888.2012.0129.2203*Processor: Intel Core i7 CPU X 990
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 580*Memory: Corsair 12 GB, 4x3@1600*PSU: Corsair HX1000*Hard drives: REVO X2 160GB*OCZ VERT X3 120GB*5 mechanical storage drives (12 TB) total.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to CLiNT For This Useful Post:

    Ibex (2013-04-02)

  7. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    76
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
    Try ctrl-alt-del >task manager performance tab, memory total, cashed and free are shown in the lower left corner.

  8. #6
    Silver Lounger mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,146
    Thanks
    203
    Thanked 207 Times in 199 Posts
    Right-click on Computer, then choose Properties. That's how you can do it in Windows 7, and that's how you could do it in XP.

  9. #7
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,731
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 543 Times in 491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mrjimphelps View Post
    Right-click on Computer, then choose Properties. That's how you can do it in Windows 7, and that's how you could do it in XP.
    That brings you to the same place given in the original post that does not shows memory is not available.

    Jerry

  10. #8
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,203
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 212 Times in 199 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ibex View Post
    I tried to check on my RAM a few times and always get a rebuff.

    So what indirect means can I use to find the RAM of my Vista machine?
    Ibex,
    Hello... you can use a free program called Speccy it will show you what you want Regards Fred
    Attached Images Attached Images
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Just Plain Fred For This Useful Post:

    Ibex (2013-04-02)

  12. #9
    Silver Lounger mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,146
    Thanks
    203
    Thanked 207 Times in 199 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    That brings you to the same place given in the original post that does not shows memory is not available.

    Jerry
    Jerry, often I will look at something for several minutes and I still won't see what it says!

  13. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    67
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Try using MemInfo - http://download.cnet.com/MemInfo/3000-2248_4-67969.html

    Now that you can't use the Gadgets, which include a memory and processor meter, this is a handy utility to have.

    You get used to how much memory is being used by checking its icon in the Notification Area (I set it to report the percentage of memory in use) and it reports how much virtual memory is being used, so if the system is using more than is usual, this could indicate a malware infection, which turned out to be the case with me once.

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to Eric Legge For This Useful Post:

    Ibex (2013-04-02)

  15. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cornwall, PA, USA
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Belarc Advisor is a neat and quite useful, free program that will provide you the information you seek, as well as a complete profile of your computer. Check out this link: [URL="http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html"]

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to git1n0n For This Useful Post:

    Ibex (2013-04-02)

  17. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    237
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 24 Times in 24 Posts
    If it's the same as Windows 7 you might try going to the Properties screen (Windows Key and Break is the quickest way there) and click on "Windows Experience Index". From there you have the option to "rerun the assessment", which may force it to recalculate and display the required info.

  18. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Buffalo, NY, USA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Another free program (SIW) "is an advanced tool that analyzes your computer and gathers detailed information about system properties and settings and displays it in an extremely comprehensible manner". http://www.gtopala.com/,

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •