Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,070
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 132 Times in 86 Posts

    Best of both worlds: Add Win8 features to Win7




    WOODY'S WINDOWS

    Best of both worlds: Add Win8 features to Win7


    By Woody Leonhard

    Windows 8 generated a lot of derision and angst but it also brought some updated desktop capabilities that are begging for a place in Windows 7.

    If Microsoft won't update Windows 7, you can do much of it yourself for free. Here's how.

    The full text of this column is posted at windowssecrets.com/woodys-windows/best-of-both-worlds-add-win8-features-to-Win7/ (paid content, opens in a new window/tab).

    Columnists typically cannot reply to comments here, but do incorporate the best tips into future columns.

  2. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Win7 has an easy "up"

    I tried Windows 8 last night for the first time. I was somewhat annoyed when I tried to find Windows Explorer. Of course, since they renamed it, it doesn't come up in the search but like other things Microsoft, they don't tell you what to search for instead.

    Windows 7's Windows Explorer may no longer have an "Up" button but it's got a better approach... just click on a level in the address bar. You can go as far up the path as you desire. Here's a screen capture.
    OneClickUp.png
    Last edited by MikeStarr; 2013-03-21 at 01:30.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Chichester, UK
    Posts
    401
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    I use the same procedure too. It's useful as Office products use Explorer as the FIle Open/Save dialog and that's the quickest way to move around the folders.

    It's a pity that more apps don't use Explorer that way (like Photoshop)!

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Lightbulb Love TeraCopy, but there's a UAC issue

    I agree that TeraCopy is a huge improvement over the Vista/Win7 file copying features--much faster and more reliable! However, I've run into one limitation that needs to be worked around: at those times when it is necessary to copy/move files into or out of protected folders, the Windows' built-in copy would escalate privileges via a UAC prompt, but TeraCopy simply fails. In that situation, I run TeraCopy, right-click, choose Options, and temporarily uncheck "Use TeraCopy as default copy handler".

    Jonathan C

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Fairfield, CA
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Woody,
    Great column as usual. Xplorer has been a longtime favorite and I'm rushing to try Teracopy, However, Windows7 doesn't need an up-button. Clicking on any part of the address bar takes you to that level of the address. So built in to the address bar is a multi-level up button.

    Ray K
    Last edited by topgum; 2013-03-21 at 12:32. Reason: spelling

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Thumbs up Alt + Up is great

    Yeah, although the button is a tad more convenient, it's not essential thanks to those cookie crumbs. What I find the most helpful (and which *is* included in Windows 7) is the shortcut key, Alt + Up. (And there are similar shortcuts for going backward and forward.)

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,335
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 267 Times in 260 Posts
    Ya, I pretty much agree with every word for a change, been using Teracopy since XP was knee high to a grasshopper. Not so sure about the task manager, don't really want a thing of beauty if that's so, I want to get a process killed or see what is occupying the CPU or see how much RAM is occupied, and get out, nitty gritty stuff. Like Woody, I'll be waiting for Blue now, see if it gets any better, my copy of 8 has it's first week of dust on it and I see no reason to pick up a duster anymore.

  8. #8
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    tera copy

    Following Woody's suggestion to download this software as listed in the most recent Windows Secrets issue, it turns out to be a piece of crapware. My MSSE ccaught two adware notices. But, that was not really a surprise, because going through the download routine, had I simply allowed the installation without checking each step, I would have been hit with several additional browser add ons. Fortunately, Win Patrol gave me the option to deep six them. Bottom line is that the terra copy (downloaded from cnet,com btw) has gone into the trash bin.

    Xherm

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,335
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 267 Times in 260 Posts
    Gotta be more savvy these days; CNet has fallen a long ways both in integrity and quality. Try the source you should be seeking out if you have a mind to.

  10. #10
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    at work now, but will try your suggestion later when at my home computer. thanks...

    Sherm

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,745
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 648 Times in 571 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shermank View Post
    Following Woody's suggestion to download this software as listed in the most recent Windows Secrets issue, it turns out to be a piece of crapware. ... Bottom line is that the terra copy (downloaded from cnet,com btw) has gone into the trash bin.
    You should have used one of the links Woody provided for TeraCopy.

    Bruce

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have been using Powerdesk Professional from Avanquest for years. Version 9 is the latest and it has many of the features you have been mentioning. It has a Size Manager which visually graphs the usage of folders on your computer (although it is very slow in producing the resulting bar graph). I use the program a lot for comparing, moving or syncing files between computers on my home network albeit it is slow on large files. So much slower that when copying or moving large files I use Windows Explorer or File Explorer.

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Federal Way, Washington, USA
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    I tried BETTER EXPLORER beta and it looked like a worthwhile replacement for Windows Explorer. The installation went smoothly starting with downloading and installing .Net 4.0 (or was it part of the Better Explorer installer package). It launched a little slower than Win Explorer but appeared to have a lot more functionality. I played around with it for awhile before realizing there were some .NET updates. After downloading and installing the updates (I think there were 5), Better Explorer stopped working. It would not open most of the time and when it did open the window would be mostly empty. Uninstalling and reinstalling did not correct the problem so was forced to uninstall and go back to Windows Explorer. Has anyone else experienced any problems with Better Explorer? Woody Leonhard indicated he had been using it for awhile with no problems.

  14. #14
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I have noticed that it can be slow to boot up the first time, but otherwise....no difficulties.

    Sherm

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to shermank For This Useful Post:

    RonieD (2013-03-25)

  16. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RonieD View Post
    I tried BETTER EXPLORER beta and it looked like a worthwhile replacement for Windows Explorer. The installation went smoothly starting with downloading and installing .Net 4.0 (or was it part of the Better Explorer installer package). It launched a little slower than Win Explorer but appeared to have a lot more functionality. I played around with it for awhile before realizing there were some .NET updates. After downloading and installing the updates (I think there were 5), Better Explorer stopped working. It would not open most of the time and when it did open the window would be mostly empty. Uninstalling and reinstalling did not correct the problem so was forced to uninstall and go back to Windows Explorer. Has anyone else experienced any proghblems with Better Explorer? Woody Leonhard indicated he had been using it for awhd ile with no problems.

    Yes I also went through those same steps! And ended up uninstalling Better Explorer. My reasons were more preformance releated. My firewall sho wed me that "better" is just a front end on explorer and slows down finding things considerably. I'm on i7 8 gb W7 64 bit system so slow is rare. This up / down thingy is not worth it I don't really like depending on .net anything so I'll pass for now .

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •