Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 32
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger Not Brightest Bulb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    376
    Thanks
    69
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    MSE to Avast Free

    I have read the review on Avast free version and am considering a switch from MSE to Avast.
    Question, is MSE a problem to uninstall, I have not had any problems with it but just wanting more protection. Is Avast easy to use. I am running W7.

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi NBB,

    the first thing you should check is, what is monitored by other programs on your pc that Avast also monitors.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger Not Brightest Bulb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    376
    Thanks
    69
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Hi NBB,

    the first thing you should check is, what is monitored by other programs on your pc that Avast also monitors.
    Oh my, you definitely do not know mental caliber of the person known as NBB. Somebody will have to monitor me before I do any monitoring.

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    I'm willing to give it a go.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger Not Brightest Bulb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    376
    Thanks
    69
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Well I know I must uninstall MSE and I am running Outpost Pro Firewall (Agnitum) and MalwareBytes Pro. I thought I might try it on a backup W7 PC where I am running Windows Firewall and AVG Freebie. Just to see what it looks like. This PC is only online to get updates etc no browsing at all.

    Now the good news with MSE is that you just install and forget it (like that) but just not sure of how secure it is.

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    S.F. Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    735
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 80 Times in 78 Posts
    It's not necessary to uninstall MSE; just turn off real-time scanning & Windows Firewall.

    Zig

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger Not Brightest Bulb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    376
    Thanks
    69
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Well the one thing I have read many times is that 2 antivirus programs on one PC never play well. It sounds correct to just turn off MSE but sometimes with me Murphy's law steps up and smacks me upside the head.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    You can run MalwareBytes Pro along with your favorite AV/AM app. They will play well together. However, if you install AVG AV 2013, then MSE should be disabled from real time. If you run a separate firewall, the Windows firewall is disabled automatically.

    You are correct in that two AV apps will conflict with each other.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger Not Brightest Bulb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    376
    Thanks
    69
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Medico View Post
    You can run MalwareBytes Pro along with your favorite AV/AM app. They will play well together. However, if you install AVG AV 2013, then MSE should be disabled from real time. If you run a separate firewall, the Windows firewall is disabled automatically.

    You are correct in that two AV apps will conflict with each other.
    Medico
    I am thinking of installing Avast not AVG. Now do I have your reply correct, if I turn off MSE's Real Time Protection I can install Avast. I don't have to uninstall MSE just disable "Real Time Protection"

    That would indeed make it easier because If Avast is not satisfactory ot glitchy I could then just uninstall it and turn on MSE.

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    That should be fine as the real time scanning is where these AV apps might conflict. Make sure you get the latest version on Avast. If you do have Avast, I see no reason to leave MSE installed, especially since if you decide you do not like Avast, it's simple to reinstall MSE.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    Not Brightest Bulb (2013-03-22)

  12. #11
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Not Brightest Bulb View Post
    Well I know I must uninstall MSE and I am running Outpost Pro Firewall (Agnitum) and MalwareBytes Pro. I thought I might try it on a backup W7 PC where I am running Windows Firewall and AVG Freebie. Just to see what it looks like. This PC is only online to get updates etc no browsing at all.
    Have you looked at the bottom line of my pc specs in my signature.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to Roderunner For This Useful Post:

    Not Brightest Bulb (2013-03-23)

  14. #12
    3 Star Lounger Not Brightest Bulb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    376
    Thanks
    69
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Have you looked at the bottom line of my pc specs in my signature.
    Well took me a while to get to it cause the couple forums I'm on have the signature showing and I had to go into your profile to get to it.

    I did notice you are using Avast and Outpost. Then I got into selfhelp side and read that carefully. (good stuff)

    I do have latest Avast downloaded not installed yet. Still pondering about the switch cause you read the different reviews and one says this one is better and then the next review says the other one is better.
    Last edited by Not Brightest Bulb; 2013-03-23 at 09:25.

  15. #13
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    It might depend on your OS. If I remember correctly (this is NOT a given anymore ) you use Win 7. If that is the case then Avast 7 should be fine. If you use Win 8 then a change to Avast 8 is highly recommended.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  16. #14
    3 Star Lounger Not Brightest Bulb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    376
    Thanks
    69
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Medico View Post
    It might depend on your OS. If I remember correctly (this is NOT a given anymore ) you use Win 7. If that is the case then Avast 7 should be fine. If you use Win 8 then a change to Avast 8 is highly recommended.
    Version 8 is what I downloaded.

  17. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Skelmersdale, Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    252
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
    I changed from MSE to Avast on both W7 and W8. No problems, but watch out for the sneaky add-ons Avast offer you.
    Also you'll find Avast now includes a software updater prog, which some dislike. Seems to work OK for me.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •