Thanks

Accessing the recovery utility

A friend brought over his Win 8 Gateway laptop last week, someone had been experimenting with some settings, now it would just lock up during the boot process. He wanted me to restore it to factory original configuration. (My friend had never run the Recovery Manager that allows you to create a repair flash drive with the recovery partition copied to it, so I needed to use the built in recovery partition.)

But I was unable to access the recovery process like I am used to doing it in previous OS'es. During boot, I tried F8, shift-F8, Fn+8, F10, F5, etc. I did some research and found lots of ways to access recovery from within Win 8, but could not find any documentation on how to access it on a non booting computer.

So my question is how to access the recovery utility on a non booting computer. I've had some seemingly knowledgeable people tell me Win 8 does not allow for that, but that does not seem to make sense. What does a manufacturer's tech support do when someone in warranty calls with a non booting computer? They must know most people do not create recovery disks, and surely they want to avoid the need to have the computer mailed in to them. So it seems like there should be some key combination to do this.

I don't have my friend's computer here anymore, but I'd like to find out what the correct procedure is for this.

Thanks
    Last edited by Vincenzo; 2013-03-31 at 18:10.

Thanks
    You need to read the documentation that came with the laptop or go to the Gateway web site with the model number to pick up the documentation there for the correct procedure. It varies by computer. Don't confuse Windows recovery (that you used to be able to get to with F8 on boot) with vendor restore to factory default. Windows 8 has killed getting to the recovery screen on boot with F8 - one of my biggest gripes about this OS.

Jerry

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post