Thanks

Copying Down a Long Column - Excel 2003

I have a 1000-row worksheet. I have a formula in B3 that I want to copy down the entire column, B3 to B1000.

The only way I know how to do this is to select B3, then drag down the whole column, then use CTRL+D to copy the formula down.

It seems like there should be a more efficient way to select B3:B1000, but I'm not aware of it. Who can tell me about a better way?
    Lou Sander
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    USA

Thanks
    If you have value in A3:A1000, you can select the bottom right corner of B3 (cursor changes from wide plus to narrow plus) and dlb-click. It will autofill.

Steve

3. The Following User Says Thank You to sdckapr For This Useful Post:

Lou Sander (2013-03-27)

Thanks
    Very nice! I've been doing it the slow way since 1989. Sheesh!
    Lou Sander
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    USA

Thanks
    By the way, that works if values are adjacent to the left or the right column, however, it will only copy to the same amount of occupied adjacent cells. If you don't have values in an adjacent column with the same range, then it can be none by: Right click B3 and select copy. Hold in the shift key and select B1000. The whole range will be selected. Now right click and paste.

HTH,
    Maud

6. The Following User Says Thank You to Maudibe For This Useful Post:

Lou Sander (2013-03-27)

Thanks
    Well, this is ever more interesting now that I've played with it for a while. These methods are better than scrolling down and copying because they are faster, but there are some pitfalls:

One blank adjacent cell will thwart the first method, maybe without it being detected.

The second method doesn't have that drawback, but if the range into which the new stuff will be copied has any populated cells that you've forgotten about or are unaware of, they will be overwritten.