Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,655
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 635 Times in 568 Posts
    What resource errors?
    Is there enough RAM assigned to the VM?
    Have you checked the event log in the VM?

    Joe

  2. #2
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts

    Access 2010 performance on VM

    I have a client who needed more space for Access 2010 data. The most cost-effective way to provide that was to P2V the machine to a SAN attached virtual machine. Now he experiences slow performance and resource errors. I kind of expected the slow performance but not the errors. Does anyone have any Access 2010 tuning hints that might help resolve the resource errors?

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,655
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 635 Times in 568 Posts
    What resource errors?
    Is there enough RAM assigned to the VM?
    Have you checked the event log in the VM?

    Joe

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
    The error comes from Visual Basic. "Error 3035. System resource exceeded." There's nothing in the event logs.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,655
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 635 Times in 568 Posts
    Is SP1 installed for Access?

    Joe

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,655
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 635 Times in 568 Posts
    Also, how much data is being returned?

    Joe

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,519
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 50 Times in 50 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by riffraff View Post
    The error comes from Visual Basic. "Error 3035. System resource exceeded." There's nothing in the event logs.
    It's a good chance that the error comes from the Registry setting for MaxLocksPerFile. See the support article http://support.microsoft.com/?id=286153.
    Wendell

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
    Joe, The physical machine had 3 GB RAM and so does the VM. Yes, SP1 is installed. I don't understand what you mean when you ask how much data is being returned.
    Wendell, good call. The client's vendor who wrote the database also suggested that. The client changed that setting within the Access menu without success.

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,400
    Thanks
    131
    Thanked 1,167 Times in 1,071 Posts
    Don't you have a way to find out where precisely is the error occurring? That would probably give a good idea of what is causing it.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  10. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
    Unfortunately, the only error the client sees is a pop-up from Visual Basic saying "Error 3035. System resource exceeded."
    I think my only way to get more precise is to ask his vendor to insert some diagnostic stop-points into the code.

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
    This is screwy. When we first saw this error, we Googled it and didn't find any hotfixes. Now, a Google search shows Microsoft KB2726928 near the top.
    That hotfix seems to have helped. Thanks to all who chimed in.

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,655
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 635 Times in 568 Posts
    Glad you have a resolution. Thanks for posting back.

    Joe

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,519
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 50 Times in 50 Posts
    Thanks for posting the solution - we run some pretty complex Access front-ends and have never seen the problem, but someone else is sure to hit it sooner or later and this may help them find the solution.
    Wendell

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •