Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts

    Downloads don't work

    I run W7 SP1 on a desktop. I've just noticed that I can't download files. If I go to an address directly, such as trying to download the "fix" to prevent IE10 from being automatically downloaded, nothing happens when I click on the download button. I also can't download PDF's, for example, from Hotmail.

    I would appreciate any help.

    Dick

    PS,
    I've run SFC /scannow and it comes up clean.

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,401
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    You say that if you go to an address "directly", the download doesn't work. Is there a way that does work, such as doing a Google search for the desired site, and then clicking on the resultant link? If that is the case, then perhaps your browser has been hijacked.

    Perhaps one of the following steps will work:

    * Try a different browser.

    * Try turning off your antivirus/firewall temporarily.

    * Try going into Safe Mode with Networking.
    Last edited by mrjimphelps; 2013-03-28 at 11:26.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to mrjimphelps For This Useful Post:

    Dick-Y (2013-03-28)

  4. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    Thanks for the response. We always preach here about taking images. Thankfully I walk the walk. I went back to an image I had taken over a week ago, restored it, and I'm good to go.

    If that didn't work, I would try what you said above. However, just to be clear(er), downloads didn't work from Hotmail; and they didn't work from a direct site (such as Microsoft and FileHippo.)

    Best,
    Dick

  5. #4
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dick-Y View Post
    I run W7 SP1 on a desktop. I've just noticed that I can't download files. If I go to an address directly, such as trying to download the "fix" to prevent IE10 from being automatically downloaded, nothing happens when I click on the download button. I also can't download PDF's, for example, from Hotmail.

    I would appreciate any help.

    Dick

    PS,
    I've run SFC /scannow and it comes up clean.
    Are you using NoScript addon in Firefox ?
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  6. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    Hi Roderunner:
    No. I run IE. I tried 10, and have gone back to IE9; and, as mentioned above, when I went back to an older system image and restored it, my problem went away.
    Best,
    Dick

  7. #6
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi Dick,

    Tried a test download from Filhippo using IE10 on my Laptop, worked perfectly.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  8. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    Hi RodeRunner:
    Must just be my system is allergic to IE10 . . .
    Dick

  9. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

    Cool

    Maybe it happened when you installed then uninstall IE10. Possibly the uninstall removed a shared file.
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  10. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    Thanks Clive, Could be. For now I'll stay with IE9. There seem to be lots of comments about people having problems using IE10 and Windows 7 together.

    Best,
    Dick

  11. #10
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dick-Y View Post
    Hi RodeRunner:
    Must just be my system is allergic to IE10 . . .
    Dick
    What shows on your pc start menu ? Mine only shows IE once.

    RR.jpg
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  12. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    Mine only shows one also.
    Dick

  13. #12
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi Dick,

    the reason I asked, was, my friends pc is 64bit and had both IE9 32 & 64bit installed till it was upgraded to IE10
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to Roderunner For This Useful Post:

    Dick-Y (2013-03-30)

  15. #13
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    With IE10, there is no separate 32 and 64 bit icons - IE runs in 64 bit mode by default, but uses 32 bit code for content processes...

    see http://blogs.msdn.com/b/ieinternals/...o-desktop.aspx

    Good Luck...

    John Brown
    Halifax, NS

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •