Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    416
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Search Form Error (2000 SR1)

    I have a search form on my Intranet site that used to work ( I just found out today that it is broken). Whenever I do a search now, I get the "HTTP 500 Internal server error" I tried creating a brand new search page, and I got the same error when I tried searching using the new page. The address displayed when the Internal server error message comes up is

    http://intranet/_vti_bin/Miscellaneous_Search.htm0.idq

    I looked in my FP web folder list, and I don't see a folder called _vti_bin. Does anyone know what may have happened or how I can fix it?

    Thanks,
    Becky

  2. #2
    Super Moderator WebGenii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    4,066
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Search Form Error (2000 SR1)

    You'd need to look at your website with explorer or an FTP type tool. FrontPage hides the _vti folders from you, since you normally don't need to work in them.
    Do you have a web server administrator you can talk to? At a guess, I wonder if it is a permissions issue for the search. But that is a guess. What I can say is that it doesn't appear to be a FP problem - but a server problem.

    Cheers
    [b]Catharine Richardson (WebGenii)
    WebGenii Home Page
    Moderator: Spreadsheets, Other MS Apps, Presentation Apps, Visual Basic for Apps, Windows Mobile

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    416
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search Form Error (2000 SR1)

    Unfortunately, there is no web server administrator (I guess I'm it). We just host the Intranet from one of our servers. I don't think it's a permissions issue, but I could be wrong. We've been scared to touch the server since we've gotten the search working, and it gives the same error message from the server.

    I went the _vti_bin folder, and I'm attaching a screen shot of what I have there. The search is looking for the Miscellaneous_search.htm0.idq file (that's what the Internal Server Error message says).

    Thanks for your help,
    Becky

  4. #4
    Super Moderator WebGenii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    4,066
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Search Form Error (2000 SR1)

    Do you want to try reposting? I don't see an image.

    Cheers
    [b]Catharine Richardson (WebGenii)
    WebGenii Home Page
    Moderator: Spreadsheets, Other MS Apps, Presentation Apps, Visual Basic for Apps, Windows Mobile

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    416
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search Form Error (2000 SR1)

    Sorry about that. Here it is for real, this time:
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    Super Moderator WebGenii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    4,066
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Search Form Error (2000 SR1)

    What OS and web server? Sorry should have asked that earlier....
    Cheers
    [b]Catharine Richardson (WebGenii)
    WebGenii Home Page
    Moderator: Spreadsheets, Other MS Apps, Presentation Apps, Visual Basic for Apps, Windows Mobile

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    416
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search Form Error (2000 SR1)

    Web Server: Windows NT 4.0 Server running IIS 4

    Workstaion: Windows NT 4.0 Workstation (SP 6)

    Thanks so much!
    Becky

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search Form Error (2000 SR1)

    FP can show hidden folders- it's one of the setting in tools > options, but i forget if it's in page or web options. (FP doesn't always have the options in the logical place)

  9. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search Form Error (2000 SR1)

    In IE, turn off friendly error messages and you may get better information. tools > options > advanced tab.

    500 is typically a permissions error - but it could be a permissions error on anything from the folder to the search index.

  10. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search Form Error (2000 SR1)

    one more thing - look in the event viewer on the server. it may offer some additional information that allows you to solve it.

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search Form Error (2000 SR1)

    Folder names beginning with an underscore are hidden by default.
    Tools | Web Settings | Advanced
    and select "Show documents in hidden directories"

  12. #12
    Super Moderator WebGenii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    4,066
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Search Form Error (2000 SR1)

    Ah yes - but even with hidden directories showing not all directories will display.
    [b]Catharine Richardson (WebGenii)
    WebGenii Home Page
    Moderator: Spreadsheets, Other MS Apps, Presentation Apps, Visual Basic for Apps, Windows Mobile

  13. #13
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    416
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search Form Error (2000 SR1)

    Yes, I've found that the _vti folders do not display. Since my last post, I have upgraded to FP 2002, and the server extensions have been upgraded to the latest version (also 2002). I have added a brand new search page to my web (after deleting all the old ones), and the search still isn't working. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>

    I tried adding another file to the _vti_script folder, and I can access that, so I don't think it is a permissions problem. All users have Read/Write/Execute/Delete access to the _vti_script folder.

    I can only see the _vti folders if I browse directly to the web's actual location on the server. If I browse through Web Folders (in My Computer), I can see only the folders that Front Page shows me.

    Does anyone have any other ideas?

    Thanks,
    Becky

  14. #14
    Super Moderator WebGenii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    4,066
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Search Form Error (2000 SR1)

    I still think it is a server problem. You might be better off posting this question on the server board.

    Cheers
    [b]Catharine Richardson (WebGenii)
    WebGenii Home Page
    Moderator: Spreadsheets, Other MS Apps, Presentation Apps, Visual Basic for Apps, Windows Mobile

  15. #15
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    416
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search Form Error (2000 SR1)

    You're right-it was a server issue. A few months ago, we installed a patch on the server to protect against the Red Worm thing that was going around. That patch broke the search because the latest IIS patch wasn't installed first (of course, the instructions didn't say anything about installing the IIS patch first). We had to reinstall SP6a, then install the latest IIS patch. All is well now. <img src=/S/fanfare.gif border=0 alt=fanfare width=31 height=23> <img src=/S/clapping.gif border=0 alt=clapping width=19 height=23> <img src=/S/joy.gif border=0 alt=joy width=23 height=23>

    Thanks for the help,
    Becky

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •