Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

    Print Screen doesn't work

    Print Screen in Win 8 is supposed to be accomplished by holding down the Windows Key and then pressing the print screen key.
    Doesn't work for me on my new Toshiba laptop.
    Nothing is saved to My Pictures folder and nothing can be pasted into Irfanview or Paint.

    Any ideas on how to fix?

  2. #2
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts
    Surely, you don't expect the screen to actually print. Eh?
    That particular function has not worked since the DOS days.

    What it does do is copy your screen to the Windows Clipboard.

    From there you can paste the image into any graphics program.

    I use the free graphics program from France, called "Photo Filtre".

    You could just as easily Paste the image into Paint, Print Shop, Photo Shop, etc.

    Good Luck,
    The Doctor
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,518
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    Did you check the Pictures\Screenshots folder to see if the screens are being captured as png files?
    What Toshiba model is it? Is it possible that you have to press some other key to enable the print screen key?
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ruirib View Post
    Did you check the Pictures\Screenshots folder to see if the screens are being captured as png files?
    What Toshiba model is it? Is it possible that you have to press some other key to enable the print screen key?
    It's a Toshiba S855-S5378.
    There is no 'Screenshots' folder in 'My Pictures' or 'Public Pictures'.
    The "Pictures" folder remains empty no matter what key combos are used and at no time is there anything in the clipboard to paste into Irfanfiew or Paint.

    Is it possible that you have to press some other key to enable the print screen key?
    I've tried other keys....Shift,Ctrl, FN,Alt Space, Enter, key with a square on it, along with Printscreen and no joy.

    Everything else went so smoothly in setting this computer up, I'm surprised something that seems so minor doesn't work.

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DrWho View Post
    Surely, you don't expect the screen to actually print. Eh?
    That particular function has not worked since the DOS days.

    What it does do is copy your screen to the Windows Clipboard.

    From there you can paste the image into any graphics program.

    I use the free graphics program from France, called "Photo Filtre".

    You could just as easily Paste the image into Paint, Print Shop, Photo Shop, etc.

    Good Luck,
    The Doctor
    Just to clarify, print screen isn't functioning so there is no image saved to the clipboard to paste into Paint or Irfanview.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,518
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    Not sure if this applies to your specific model, but according to the manual (which you should probably have), Fn + PrtSc should do it:

    http://www.manualowl.com/m/Toshiba/S...&x=-779&y=-491
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ruirib View Post
    Not sure if this applies to your specific model, but according to the manual (which you should probably have), Fn + PrtSc should do it:

    http://www.manualowl.com/m/Toshiba/S...&x=-779&y=-491

    That did it and thanks........:up:
    Just have to relearn the buttons to push


    BTW......there was no manual with the computer and since it's a stand alone ( no internet connection ) the Help files were useless.

    But since you so graciously posted a link to a download for a manual, I now have one. :up:

    You guys rock!

    Again
    Thank you much......



    edit......apparently with this model, printscreen does not save to the 'Pictures' folder as with Win 8 instals in other model computers.
    Last edited by JackStone; 2013-03-31 at 18:41.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,518
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    No problem, glad you sorted it .


    P.S: Maybe you could try Winkey + Fn + PrtSc?
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ruirib View Post
    No problem, glad you sorted it .


    P.S: Maybe you could try Winkey + Fn + PrtSc?


    FN + PrtSc copies the whole desktop to the clipboard but doesn't save to 'Screenshots' ( which now exists).
    FN+ALT + PrtSc copies the active window to the clipboard but doesn't save to 'Screenshots'
    Winkey +FN + PrntSc copies the whole desktop to the clipboard and saves to 'Screenshots' as a .png file


    Whew!!!


    I'm going to have to write that down on a post-it and tape it to my monitor

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,518
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    It's great when things work as we want them to .
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,793
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Good cold morning to you, Rui. >>> Fn + PrtSc should do it: <<< ( message # 6 )

    On all my W-8 machines, it is Shift + PrnScrn, then I open Paint Shop and a Ctrl+V does my trick. You must be on a laptop to have the use of Fn ??? Be good. Jean.

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,518
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    Yes, Jean, it's a laptop.

    Regards

    Rui
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  13. #13
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    East Tennessee
    Posts
    179
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have a recent Win 8 machine and under the Windows Accessories Group there is Snipping Tool which works great. Ala Apple it allows you to select a portion of the screen and set up a location where they are saved.

    I pinned mine to the Task bar which to me is much more accessible than Print Screen.
    Win 8, Firefox 16.0.2, Thunderbird 15.0.2

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,335
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 267 Times in 260 Posts
    Don't know if it works in Win 8 or not but we've been using Picasa, just have it running I think and any PrtScrn push captures the screen, edit the multiples later. Good if one needs a bunch in a hurry and has a good workflow cropping editor like Paint Shop Pro.

  15. #15
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts
    I hope no-one gets upset if I repeat myself......but.....

    The free program, from France, "Photo Filtre" works better than any Print Screen or Screen Capture program that I've tried since Windows 95.
    Can't find it? Well it's here!
    https://www.box.com/shared/x96pr3rxkn

    It does work equally well on ALL versions of Windows.

    When I install it, I put the shortcut to it in my Quick Launch Toolbar, for fastest access.

    Then when I want to capture a desktop screen, or save something that's on that screen, I first hit the appropriate "Prt Scrn" key.
    That copies the entire desktop to my "Clipboard".
    Then I open Photo Filtre by just one click on the toolbar icon.
    In the open screen in Photo Filtre, I right click and select "Paste as new Image".
    When the image is there, I can then resize it, crop it, add contrast if I need to, add text if I need it and finally save it to anywhere on the PC.
    Many times, FREE software is less than desirable, but this little program, "Photo Filtre",
    is much nicer and faster than any graphics program I've ever used in 30+ years.

    I take a lot of pictures with my little Digital Camera and before I save any to my HD, I first run them through Photo Filtre, where I can re-size them, crop them if necessary, add some extra contrast if they are a little bit light or fuzzy and finally save them to the appropriate folder. It's neat, to have such a great little program just one mouse click away.

    Cheers Mates!
    The Doctor
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •