Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Lounger
    Thanks

Unhappy deleted hiberfil.sys in error on win 8 laptop working too fast

I'm new to windows 8 but was helping on a new setup using a guide I read too fast it recommended turning off hibernate but only on a desktop ( that's what I read too fast ) so my question is if I turn back on hibernate by cmd and powercfg.exe /hibernate on will it rebuild hiberfil.sys?

since turning it off the system is strange ex. pointer doesn't turn into a hand at the top of the modern UI to pull it down to close it. A this is the only tweak I did it must be connected

Any help appreciated Bob

Thanks
    See http://www.pcworld.com/article/20169...windows-8.html
    for instructions to re enable hibernate. Windows 8 will rewrite hiberfile.sys when you power down.

Jerry

Thanks
    It is entirely possible the strange behavior with the hand is related, especially if they started at the same time.

By the way, it does not hurt to turn off hibernate on laptops either. I do not hibernate either of our laptops with no adverse affects at all. There have been some documented problems associated with Fast Start which I do not wish to have. I believe the hybrid hibernate used for fast start is also turned off when hibernate is disabled.

Jerry's instructions are spot on for re-enabling hibernate.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted

Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)

Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Thanks
    The only issue with Fast Start that I am aware of is that selecting power off or pushing the power button performs a hybrid hibernate instead of a complete shutdown which bothers some people. Choosing restart will do a complete shutdown before doing the restart. I have my laptop set to hibernate when on battery power and i close the lid and have fast start enabled and have not noticed any problems.

Jerry

Thanks