Star Lounger
    Thanks

Word 2010: Make a style available regardless of document origin

Hi, everyone. I have a created a style called "feedback" that I want to be able to access regardless of where the document originated (I am a teacher grading work). I know how to create a new style, and I know how to save one to the Normal template, but I'm wondering if it's possible to save it on my machine and have it available for any document that I open.

Thanks for any ideas!

Val in cloudy IL

Super Moderator
    Thanks
    Val

I think your best option is to use a macro which creates the style the way you want it and put a button on your QAT which runs the macro. I would probably try to create the macro in such a way that it:
    1. If style doesn't exist: create it
    2. Apply the style to the current selection

Let us know if you need help to create the macro.
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

Thanks
    Val,

I agree with Andrew. But just to clarify, if you save a style to your Normal template it is available to any document you open. Unfortunately, you need to copy the style to your open document in order to use it. You can do this through the Organizer, which is available on the Developer Tab > Templates Group > Document Template button. In the dialog that appears, click the Organizer button in the lower left. You can also add the Organizer to the QAT -- display all commands and find "Organizer".

When you have a document open, then open the Organizer. The Styles tab is usually already displayed. The open document's styles will be on the left, the styles in Normal.dotm on the right. Select your feedback style and copy to the other document.

But this is quite a bit more trouble than what Andrew is suggesting, especially when you want to do it over and over. You'd only want to go through the steps I've described every once in a while.