Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Central California
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    win8 "Administrative tools" folder missing

    new install of win8 on Samsung SSD. When I try to access the administrative tools folder, I get error box saying Windows can't find the folder. If I hunt in windows explorer it is indeed missing. I understand it just contains a group of shortcuts to administrative programs. Is There a way to rebuild the folder?

    rwcrane

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,796
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    You should find two Administartive Tools folders:
    C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs
    C:\Users\your_user_id\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Wi ndows\Start Menu\Programs

    Make sure the view tab in Control panel Folder Options is set with hide protected OS files unchecked and show hidden files... checked.

    If you still don't see the folders, try opening an administrative command prompt and run:
    sfc /scannow.

    Jerry

  3. #3
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cranerw3156 View Post
    new install of win8 on Samsung SSD. When I try to access the administrative tools folder, I get error box saying Windows can't find the folder. If I hunt in windows explorer it is indeed missing. I understand it just contains a group of shortcuts to administrative programs. Is There a way to rebuild the folder?

    rwcrane
    They are not located in the control panel?
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Mine are indeed in the CP as well.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    One can create a "tools" folder and pull what you need from the control panel's admin folder.
    ZZZZZZZZZ.jpg
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Central California
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    running sfc solved the [problem. Thanks.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,796
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Glad to hear it worked.

    Jerry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •