Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

How long would one keep using XP pro SP3 ?

I know 2 guy's still using Win98 se but that's there issue..

I've been using XP pro (32bit) for 6-10 yrs I guess and it's on SP3 with all updates, I clean up often and use CCleaner, Malwarebytes and MSE running on it ----- haven't had a problem for yrs.

I also have WIN 7 home premium 64bit on a different drive, I like it also and no issues.

I keep both OS'es cleaned up and backed up on USB external drives.

Question: I often think about how long is long enough using XP pro of mine or is there an answer at all to my worry ?

Thanks
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Jag,

IMHO use it until it no longer meets your needs. I see no reason to upgrade for the sake of upgrading, unless you are crazy like me and have to try out the new stuff all the time. After all for most people the computer is a tool would you buy a new screwdriver because someone put a different color handle on it? Now I need to buy new a new set of screwdrivers because so much stuff now has those [expletive deleted] torx heads on the screws, i.e. my current set no longer meets all my needs. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

RG

PowerShell & VBA Rule!

My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

3. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

Jagworld (2013-04-06)

Silver Lounger
    Thanks
    haven't had a problem for yrs
    Along with RG, you answered your own question. For me it's going to be when 3rd party software gives up the ghost on XP support. That won't happen all at once of course but someday it'll be some new program or upgrade that is no longer compatible, along with half a dozen other less important programs or video games that no longer run on the XP platform...it'll be time. There's a couple chinks in the armor so far but overall, XP is still my main workhorse for years to come.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    F.U.N.,