Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts

    booting from Windows Defender bootable offline tool

    I run W7 from a desktop. After reading the latest newsletter article by Fred, I decided to set up a WDO offline bootable tool. I downloaded it, and burned the CD. When I tested it I could only do my normal W7 boot-up. I then rebooted, and went into my BIOS. Where before the 1st item was my hard disk, I changed the order so that booting from a CD was at the top of the list. Having saved the change, I rebooted. No joy.
    All I could still do was my normal boot-up.

    Any suggestions/help would be appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Dick

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Dick,

    What kind of computer do you have? Do you have a spare USB key around? I boot from USB key and it works like a charm. On my Dell at boot I press the F12 key to get the boot device menu which lets me select which device to boot from. Of course if your BIOS doesn't support booting from USB devices this won't work. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    Thanks RG, I'll give your suggestion a try in a while; and I'll report back.

    Dick

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    Inch by inch . . . F12 got me to the boot device menu, and I was able to select the WDO's drive. After a time of just looking at an image of the Windows Pane (and the rest of the screen being blank), it eventually said:
    Your PC needs to restart.
    Please hold down the power button.
    error code: 0X0000005D

    Maybe I should have said: Windows Pain.

    Dick

  5. #5
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Dick,

    Google: wdo error 0X0000005D

    Quite a few items to check out. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,396
    Thanks
    445
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    WDO takes a long time to boot into, and then a long time to run. You'll need to be patient.

    Also, keep in mind that in order to have the most current definitions, you'll need to create the disk when you need it; the one you created the other day will soon be out of date.

    All this is after you get the 0X0000005D error resolved.

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    I had also created a Kapersky cd; and that worked like a charm. I think I'll put WDO on the backburner. However, because friends tell me I am 'relentless' I will get back to WDO and resolve it. When I do, I'll report back.
    Dick

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •