Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Garland,TX
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Questions after a clean reinstall of WIN7

    I did my first Clean Install of windows yesterday. Everything went very well. I did a full back up and system image using the built in Windows 7 tools reinstalled it using the ISO file downloaded from Digital river(HP with SP1) and about a half hour later was done.

    Two problems one somewhat minor the other somewhat baffling.
    After reinstalling Office 2003 I restored my data from the back up and opened Outlook no contacts, no emails and nothing in my calendar.
    I had just "Assumed" that this information would be included in the back up but apparently I did make a ass out of myself because it was not.
    Luckily not all was lost because I had just synced my contact and calendar information to my phone and I was able to retrieve that info.
    I did lose almost 4 years of saved email but I can live with that.
    although I looked is there any chance any of this info could be in the Windows.old file before I delete it?

    The second and more baffling problem is very slow boot times.
    I timed it this morning and it was a full two minutes from the time I pressed the start button until the log on screen appeared and another 30 seconds after that before the desktop loaded.
    the only programs allowed to start are MSE and Last pass.
    I checked the event logs and the only error I can find that appears to relate to start up is attached below.

    Capture.PNG

    if anyone has any suggestions I would appreciate hearing them.
    thanks
    Barry

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    1. Yes, windows.old should have your outlook .pst file. If you created an image, that should have included the file, as well.
      The file is usually located at C:\Users\YourUsername\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Outlook


    2. Not sure about the startup time. See if WhatInStartup can be of help.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

    bwc (2013-04-14)

  4. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,335
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 267 Times in 260 Posts
    More general info on the .pst file, part of which is moving it to a location that is included in a normal data backup.

    Slow start up on a fresh install, chipset and peripheral drivers maybe if only using those that Win 7 install is using; they might be too generic. Sometimes that's what it is for me anyway.
    Last edited by F.U.N. downtown; 2013-04-14 at 11:53.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to F.U.N. downtown For This Useful Post:

    bwc (2013-04-14)

  6. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    928
    Thanks
    61
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    Could check what windows thinks you memory is in case it not seeing all of it.
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  7. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    928
    Thanks
    61
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    Try going to this Microsoft help page. It may help resolve your problem
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to curiousclive For This Useful Post:

    bwc (2013-04-14)

  9. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Garland,TX
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    ruirib
    You are a life saver. I had looked for the Appdata file before for another reason and couldn't find it but this time it dawned on me it might be a hidden file.
    worked like a charm I now have all my data back.
    Barry

  10. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Garland,TX
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Windows is showing all 5GB of memory installed.
    I found a Microsoft fix it on the link you sent and applied it.
    I have to head off to work but I will let you know.
    Barry

  11. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    S.F. Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    735
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 80 Times in 78 Posts
    BW,

    Memory usually runs best (dual-channel mode) in even-numbered quantities, depending on your chipset (4, occasionaly 6, 8, 12GB).

    Zig

  12. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bwc View Post
    ruirib
    You are a life saver. I had looked for the Appdata file before for another reason and couldn't find it but this time it dawned on me it might be a hidden file.
    worked like a charm I now have all my data back.
    Barry
    Glad you got it back, Barry .
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  13. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Garland,TX
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Just a update on my problems
    After installing the Microsoft Fix- It the error message I referenced above went away.
    I ran WhatsinStartup and it showed the same thing as MSCONFIG and CCleaner. LastPass and MSE are the only 2 progroms in startup.
    Zig you are correct I have read the same thing about memory and as to why H.P. decided to throw in the extra 1 GB stick I have no idea.However I have never had any memeory problems and at least at the different times I have looked at I always have at least 50 percent free.

    F.U.N Downtown
    I beleave you may be on the right track. Since I installed the Fix-It it still takes 90 seconds to get to the logon screen but I no longer get the 20-30 second delay to the start screen.
    this is the warning I get from the event viewer upon start-up now


    I tried starting without my external hard drive and printer attached and it made no difference.
    I did find in device manager a device called a generic compact flash but there is no manufacture listed and windows cannot find a newer driver.
    so at this point I am stumped.
    Barry
    Attached Images Attached Images

  14. #11
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    bwc (2013-04-16)

  16. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,335
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 267 Times in 260 Posts
    For drivers in general, I've had and continue to have very good luck using a little free program called SlimDriversFree (go for the direct download link below the Download.com link if you grab it), especially if it's an Intel based system though the last time I used it, it did even better on an AMD system. The free version will only download and install one at a time but that's kind of what one wants anyway and usually the first driver in the category takes care of several of the drivers, making a restore point before each install in case a bum driver does get included. As long as there's a working network/Internet connection it sure saves me a lot of time trying to look up the proper drivers.

  17. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to F.U.N. downtown For This Useful Post:

    bwc (2013-04-16),rlfvt (2013-04-16)

  18. #13
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Garland,TX
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Jerry
    thanks. That cured the error message but had no effect on the boot time.

    F.U.N.
    Nice program. I am usually somewhat Leary of programs like this but I decided to give it a try.
    it found about 8 drivers it said needed updated.
    One of them was a Nvidia network driver. I Installed and restarted my computer and BINGO less than 30 seconds boot time.
    This is what I love about this forum.
    Thanks to everyone for there help.
    Barry

  19. #14
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Good to here you solved your error message issue.

    Jerry

  20. #15
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,335
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 267 Times in 260 Posts
    Oh, I'm plenty leary of such programs too, but this one seems to be trying it's best without being too obnoxious!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •