Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unable to get Aero features

    I have a Dell Inspiron 530 using a Intel G31/G33 Express Chipset which is current and I for some reason now I cannot get the Aero features. I'm stuck on Windows classic taskbar and cannot get Aero themes. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,543
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 614 Times in 550 Posts
    Is there a discrete graphics card?

    How much RAM is installed?

    Joe

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,111
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 242 Times in 235 Posts
    Rerun the WEI and what numbers do you get, especially for graphics?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    2,138
    Thanks
    102
    Thanked 208 Times in 181 Posts
    There's also a troubleshooter: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/976170

    Was Aero working until recently? Did the problem begin after any new install or Windows Update session?

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unable to get Aero Features

    I have done the troubleshooter wizard and it tells me that "This theme cannot be applied to desktop" and that DWM is disabled and it is not. I have deleted any software that I installed around the time that this happened. The numbers for WEI are Processor 7.1, Memory 7.1, Graphics 4.2, Gaming grapics 3.4 and Primary HD 5.9.

    I have 256 mb of video memory and I'm not sure what a discrete graphics card is. I've tried installing a Windows 7 driver from Intel for the Intel G33/G31 Express Chipset family but I got no display (Dell doesn't provide drivers for Win 7 for this graphics controller).

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,111
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 242 Times in 235 Posts
    Should be working, if its a thing that just happened in the last few days you could try a system restore and see if that restores function.

    Discrete graphics just means there's a separate graphics card in the system with it's own memory instead of sharing some memory with RAM.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,194
    Thanks
    201
    Thanked 784 Times in 718 Posts
    Carin4u,

    I have the same machine with an Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 processor.
    I use a GeForce 9500GT graphics card w/1Mb of memory.
    I don't believe this setup has builtin graphics you need a descrete, separate add-in board, graphics card.

    Download a program like free version of Speccy from Piriform and it will tell you exactly what is in the box.
    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  8. #8
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    2,138
    Thanks
    102
    Thanked 208 Times in 181 Posts
    Carin4u has a G31/G33 chipset which has a GMA3100 graphics built-in, he wouldn't get WEI graphics scores of 4.2/3.4 without at least partially working Intel gfx drivers installed.

    My guess is that there's a corrupt chipset driver, reinstalling with the latest version from Intel may fix it, otherwise a fresh install, chipset drivers first to update, may be the best way to make progress.

    Hmm, just a thought, which version of IE do you have now?

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Intel G33/G31 Express Chipset Family
    Device ID 8086-29C2
    Revision 3
    Subvendor Dell (1028)
    Current Performance Level Level 1
    Driver version 8.15.10.1930
    Count of performance levels : 1
    Level 1
    OpenGL
    Version 1.4.0 - Build 8.14.10.1930
    Vendor Intel
    Renderer Intel Bear Lake B
    GLU Version 1.2.2.0 Microsoft Corporation
    Values
    GL Extensions

    I have IE 10 version. If I reinstall do I have to uninstall the one that's there?
    Last edited by carin4u; 2013-04-16 at 23:32.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    2,138
    Thanks
    102
    Thanked 208 Times in 181 Posts
    Try reverting to IE9 and uninstalling the KB2670838 update, this update contains new versions of several graphics related files which have caused problems for a lot of users.

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Talking Unable to get Aero Features

    I did uninstall the KB2670838 and it worked. Aero is back. Thanks so much - problem solved.

  12. #12
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    2,138
    Thanks
    102
    Thanked 208 Times in 181 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by carin4u View Post
    I did uninstall the KB2670838 and it worked. Aero is back. Thanks so much - problem solved.
    Excellent news!

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unable to get Aero Features

    I spoke too soon. I shutdown and rebooted and Aero is gone again. Don't know what's happening. Anytime I do a Windows update or uninstall an update, Aero comes back until I shutdown and reboot.

  14. #14
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    2,138
    Thanks
    102
    Thanked 208 Times in 181 Posts
    There's another thread on this elsewhere for reference: http://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...ic-692586.html

    Cross-posting like this is often frowned upon as wasting too many helpers' time, it may be better to continue with one until you hit a stalemate or fix, then return to the other with an update on what you've done or the fix.

  15. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unable to get Aero Features

    Sorry, I thought these were 2 different forums.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •