Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Faifax, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    542
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    #%$!#% corruption (A2K 9.0.4402 SR-1)

    what am i doing with forms that corrupts an access 2k database?

    It's like one form goes haywire and infects those around it?

    Is there any way to recover from this absurd behavior?

    And why does it happen in the first place!!!!???? ARGH <img src=/S/aflame.gif border=0 alt=aflame width=15 height=15>

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: #%$!#% corruption (A2K 9.0.4402 SR-1)

    Sorry, Peter, but there's no answer to that question. The only serious forms corruption I've seen in Access 2000 happened to me when I had Access XP installed on the same machine. After I uninstalled that and reinstalled Office 2k, the problem disappeared.
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: #%$!#% corruption (A2K 9.0.4402 SR-1)

    I've seen form corruption in Acc 2K, where the form just wouldn't open in form view, and when you tried to open it in design view, an error message ( I can't remember what it was) just popped up and wouldn't let me get at it. Had to start the form from stratch.

    Sorry not much help, but I do have sympathy for you

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Faifax, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    542
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: #%$!#% corruption (A2K 9.0.4402 SR-1)

    The message is "Error accessing file. Network connection may have been lost."

    How did you delete the corrupt form?

    What steps necessary to get bakc to a clean mdb?

    If you can remember...

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: #%$!#% corruption (A2K 9.0.4402 SR-1)

    I think what I had to do in the end was create an entirely new mdb then import all object apart from the one form that was corrupt.

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: #%$!#% corruption (A2K 9.0.4402 SR-1)

    In fact, from memory it was actually a Report rather than a form...but same difference

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Faifax, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    542
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: #%$!#% corruption (A2K 9.0.4402 SR-1)

    Yeah, that's what i've been doing.

    What I want is to know which ones i can import and which ones are infected. There oughta be some kind of tool for this...

    Better yet, a2k should work properly.

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: #%$!#% corruption (A2K 9.0.4402 SR-1)

    Dunno, thinking on my feet now

    How about in the 'corrupt' database, create this code

    <font face="Georgia">Public Function DisplayCorruptForms ()
    Dim frm as Form
    Dim db as Database
    On Error Resume Next
    set db = CurrentDB
    For each frm in db.Forms
    docmd.openform frm.name
    If err.number <> 0 Then
    debug.print frm.name
    err.number = 0
    Else
    DoCmd.Close acForm, frm.name
    End If
    Next frm
    End Function</font face=georgia>

    Run this function and it will display those forms names that can't be opened in the immediate window.

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    920
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: #%$!#% corruption (A2K 9.0.4402 SR-1)

    Peter:
    I've gone through exactly, word for word, the same problem as you have. As Jayden suggested one of the few options that you have is to start out with a blank database and import. However, you could also try, if you haven't already, do a compile from debug mode to see if all of your code is clean. The other way I was able to localize my problem, was to bring in the forms 10 at a time, open one of them in program mode, create an Exit System command button, and then see if the system crashes. It always did on mine until the situation was remedied. If it doesn,t crash, then save that copy of your database under a new name and then bring in the next 10 and keep repeating until you eventually narrow it down to the culprit. Painful beyond belief, but unfortunately, about the only thing that you can do. And then send a bill for your time wasted to Bill Gates.
    Cheers,
    Andy

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: #%$!#% corruption (A2K 9.0.4402 SR-1)

    Unfortunately database corruption has been with Access (and others too) since day 1. The suggestions for finding the culprit are about your only recourse at this point. Let me suggest you look for the root cause as well:
    <UL><LI> is your network indeed flakey and causing hits to occur?
    <LI> Do you have Name Autocorrect turned off?
    <LI> Is you database split with data in one and the rest in another - if so you might consider making the front-end a MDE - they go corrupt less often, and also make it READ ONLY at the OS level - then it can't go corrupt
    <LI> If you database is split, then consider putting copies on user PCs, and store only the data on the server[/list]We've gone through similar situations, and twice had to rebuild really complex forms because of it. When we went to deploying the copy on the workstation and making it READ ONLY all that stopped. (We are using SQL Server as the back-end in most cases so we don't have corruption issues with the data) Hope this helps.
    Wendell

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    920
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: #%$!#% corruption (A2K 9.0.4402 SR-1)

    Wendel:
    I appreciate your input.
    The problems occurred on my Home system with only 3 networked stations, so it wasn't a big deal.
    Name Autocorrect was turned on. Not sure what the impact would be one way or the other. It can be a handy little tool. Sort of a poor man's Speed Ferret.
    Database is split. As the problems were in the front end, I'm not too sure as to what the impact would be to make it an MDE. I wouldn't be able to make it such until it was clean anyways.
    I do split the the database between machines.

    Short Comment to All: I've used http://bbs.elementkjournals.com/ for questions and answers, and this is my first couple of days in Woody's Lounge. Wow!
    Cheers,
    Andy

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: #%$!#% corruption (A2K 9.0.4402 SR-1)

    Take a look at my post <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.wopr.com/cgi-bin/w3t/showthreaded.pl?Cat=&Board=off&Number=90700&page=0 &view=collapsed&sb=5&o=186&fpart=&vc=>here</A> on this problem.
    Charlotte

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: #%$!#% corruption (A2K 9.0.4402 SR-1)

    It sounds like you've run into the same problem I encountered and posted on <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.wopr.com/cgi-bin/w3t/showthreaded.pl?Cat=&Board=off&Number=90700&page=0 &view=collapsed&sb=5&o=186&fpart=&vc=>here</A>. I had to uninstall Access 2002, but the problem can be caused by any 2002 app that installs a particular version of the vbe6.dll.
    Charlotte

  14. #14
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Faifax, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    542
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: #%$!#% corruption (A2K 9.0.4402 SR-1)

    ooooh - i gotta try this *after* dinner <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  15. #15
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Faifax, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    542
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: #%$!#% corruption (A2K 9.0.4402 SR-1)

    I think I will do it using the binary method. Import the first half. If it works, then the next quarter, then the next eighth etc. maybe a little faster than 10 at a time, but with the small form count i'm using, either way should do the trick.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •