Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    220
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Macro Buttons Shrink in Compatibility Mode

    I created a spreadsheet using Excel 2007. The buttons containing macros sometimes shrink to unrecognizable size after printing and going to different location. This never happened when using Excel 2007 but happens unpredictably when using MS Office 2010 in the compatibility mode. I tried to save the file as a 2010 file but then there are many more compatibility problems.

    I noticed that sometimes if I scrolled down a few times, this shrinkage fixes itself but it doesn't get fixed every time.

    Is there anything I can do to prevent or cure this.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Newcazzle, UK
    Posts
    2,830
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 483 Times in 460 Posts
    Hi

    It would take a long time to explain what's happening.

    Check out this link:

    http://blogs.technet.com/b/the_micro...n-changed.aspx

    zeddy

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    220
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for the link. My problem is that I'll have to edit several computers at different locations to fix this. If this happens only when the print preview is selected, is there a way to avoid this and still have a macro to print.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    You could assign the macro to a Key Combination.

    If the users can't remember the combo you could place a text box where the button would have been with the key combos listed. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Praha
    Posts
    990
    Thanks
    56
    Thanked 105 Times in 90 Posts
    If you assign the macros to text boxes instead of buttons you may see an improvement.

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    220
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Not sure I understand what you have in mind. Could you make this a little clearer for me.

    Thanks.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Here's a sample of Martin's suggestion since it was better than mine.
    VBA - Text Box as Button.xlsm
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    220
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    O.K. so you're saying that text boxes won't change their size after Print Preview?

    Thanks.
    Frank

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Praha
    Posts
    990
    Thanks
    56
    Thanked 105 Times in 90 Posts
    It is hard to be certain, since your system is misbehaving, but it usually works.

    Easy enough to give it a try - you just insert a text box, then right click it and choose Assign Macro.

    This is a method with several interesting possibilities, including having a transparent text box so you can still see the cell underneath - you could then, for instance, easily change the label by using an IF statement in the cell.

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    220
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes. Assigning a macro to the text box seems to work.

    Can you give me an example of how to use an IF statement in the cell of a transparent text box.

    Thanks.

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Praha
    Posts
    990
    Thanks
    56
    Thanked 105 Times in 90 Posts
    I didn't mean to complicate things !

    If the text box to which you have assigned your macro is transparent then you can see the cell underneath it. Whatever that cell contains will be what is visible and you can use that in whatever way you want.

    In one case I use it to give instructions to the user, and the instruction can vary according to circumstances. The text is normally "Click here to update names", but can be changed to "No update file is available" when appropriate.

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    220
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Got it.

    The text box seems to be the answer. When the buttons shrink the text box remains.

    Thanks again.

  13. #13
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Newcazzle, UK
    Posts
    2,830
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 483 Times in 460 Posts
    Hi Frank

    Please let us know when the text box changes size.
    (Have you tried it on any other PC's yet????).
    You may find that this is only temporary.

    Have you seen the 'flashing' button objects in Excel2010 yet???
    Text boxes will misbehave too.
    These issues are all related.

    zeddy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •