Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA, USA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Repurcussions of client hardware swap

    We have an SBS2003 R2 server based network. One of my client computers has a defective PCI slot and I am going to have to replace the motherboard. It will be an exact replacement MB. My question is will this new MB break the trust relationship with the server? We are using the onboard NIC if that matters. This is one of our most important client computers and I really need the swap to go smoothly. Should I expect any problems and is there anything I can do prior to swapping the hardware to minimize the down time. The client computer is currently functional. Should I remove it from the domain and rejoin after the swap? Will the netdom command be of any help?

    Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,718
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 236 Times in 224 Posts
    Swapping the motherboard may upset the Windows license, but it won't affect the domain membership. To be safe make sure you have the local administrator credentials for the PC before you start.
    Don't use NETDOM unless you know exactly what you are doing. To leave/join a domain use the Computer Properties > Advanced System Settings > Computer Name.

    cheers, Paul

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    uptime (2013-04-25)

  4. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Wouldn't it be easier to just slap in a PCI nic card?

  5. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA, USA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    What does that buy me at this point?

  6. #5
    5 Star Lounger RussB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    674
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 38 Times in 37 Posts
    Be aware if your server is doing any security/verification via the MAC ID.
    Do you "Believe"? Do you vote? Please Read:
    LEARN something today so you can TEACH something tomorrow.
    DETAIL in your question promotes DETAIL in my answer.
    Dominus Vobiscum <))>(

  7. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA, USA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    That was my initial concern. How do I determine that? Does SBS2003 use MAC address as part of it's security ID?

  8. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,718
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 236 Times in 224 Posts
    Domain membership is not MAC dependent, wifi may be. I can't think of any other use for MAC addresses apart from the local router/wifi access point.

    cheers, Paul

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •