Lounger
    Thanks

Programmatically Updating Control? (Access 2000/VBA)

I have a text box control that may or may not be entered from the keyboard. In other words, the user may not enter any data. I wish to programmatically simulate an update to the control and therefore go through the After Update Event.

I know this must be easy, but I am a novice at VBA. Does anyone have any suggestions? TIA.

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Programmatically Updating Control? (Access 2000/VBA)

You can call the AfterUpdate event procedure just as you would call any other event procedure in the module, but a better way to handle that is to put whatever code you're running in the AfterUpdate event in a private sub in the form's module and then call that sub from the AfterUpdate event of the control and also from wherever else you need it.

You have to decide *when* you want to call that routine if the user never enters the control or doesn't change the value in it, though. One logical place would be in the BeforeUpdate event of the form, but that doesn't happen unless the record becomes dirty.

What exactly are you trying to accomplish with this? There may be some other suggestions if we knew more about what you want to do.
    Charlotte

Lounger
    Thanks

Charlotte:

Thanks for the reply. I realize that I did not go into a lot of detail in my original post.