Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows 8 Sound problem

    I have a brand new ASUS desktop with Windows 8. I have sound when using Skype but not when using Internet Explorer. Any ideas? Probably a setting but I've checked all the ones I can find.

    Is there a logical order to all the checks that might help me identify a solution?

    Many thanks.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,492
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    Hi June, welcome to the Lounge.

    Which websites are failing to play sounds in IE?

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Right, can I clarify a few things - apologies for not explaining properly. I have a desktop with an external screen connected by HDMI cable. When using Skype, I am using an external camera with mike plugged directly into the desktop - that works - sound - no problem.

    When I go onto the internet I have no sound using the HDMI cable. I checked various settings and did a test on the speaker - they worked.

    So, I just removed the HDMI cable and plugged in the old style blue ended cable plus a green ended (sound?) cable like you find on a headset and the sound worked - both on internet and playing CD. So, I have found a work around but surely, the HDMI cable on it's own should work? It works when I use Skype - so why not when I want to do other stuff.

    As you can probably guess, I am not technically minded. Appreciate any hints you might be able to give to analyse why it doesn't work as I expect.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Whenever I wanted to connect my PC to the TV (external screen) using HDMI I also had to use a separate sound cable. I suspect it's a driver issue with the PC not having the proper sound drivers for the TV. Since I do not do this often I have not investigated further.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,492
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    I suspect that you will need to modify the sound Devices so that the HDMI device is set as the default. I don't use W8 so I'll suggest some random site http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...6-0e57b8861baf

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for your help. Glad I am not the only one with this... thought it was probably something I had done. I'll have a look at the website now. Again, thank you for your help guys.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Totally brilliant - it works!!!! Control panel - Manage audio devices, select HDMI output. Thank you.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,492
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    Nice work

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •