Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brookline, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    604
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Login name change

    I have a new Win 7 PC and an old Vista on the same LAN. Used Windows EZ Transfer to move files and settings successfully. However, before I could have each PC "see" the other I had to change the User Account on the Win7 to Howard to match Vista. I deleted the original account, HDH. Now, when I look at C:\Users I see HDH, along with All Users, etc. Does this matter? I still need to install iTunes on Win 7 and transfer the iTunes Library. Apple's instructions say to copy the iTunes Library "to the exact same file structure". Will iTunes be unhappy if it can't find Howard? Or is the folder name HDH "cosmetic" only?
    Thanks, HH.

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,624
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 526 Times in 475 Posts
    Itunes doesn't care which username it is installed under. Just copy the Itunes files to the appropriate directories under your new user name.

    Jerry

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    Howard Hillman (2013-05-03)

  5. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brookline, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    604
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks, Jerry, that worked fine.
    I use iTunes to sync Outlook with my iPhone. Is there anything special I need to do the first time I sync on the Win7 PC? My iPhone is backed up on the Vista computer, but I hope to avoid restoring because of a mistake on Win7.
    If this belongs on another thread, let me Know.
    HH

  6. #4
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    2,363
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 235 Times in 188 Posts
    I'm not a user of iTunes or iPhone, so I can't advise you on the sync, but your thread is in the right forum.

    Hopefully someone will give you a useful answer soon.
    Create a new drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "Let them that don't want it have memories of not gettin' any." "Gratitude is riches and complaint is poverty and the worst I ever had was wonderful." Brother Dave Gardner "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else." Sir Thomas Robert Deware. "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand?" Captain Jack Sparrow.
    Unleash Windows

  7. #5
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,624
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 526 Times in 475 Posts
    Its been a long time since I synced Outlook with an Ipad but I don't believe you need to do anything special. It might be wise to make a backup copy of the Win 7 pst file just in case.

    Jerry

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    Howard Hillman (2013-05-06)

  9. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brookline, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    604
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks to all. All is well on my new Win7 PC.
    HH

  10. #7
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,624
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 526 Times in 475 Posts
    happy to hear everything is now running smoothly.

    Jerry

  11. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    The reason you had to change your name on the new computer is because you can't have the same user on two different machines within your network.

    Why would a company have one account for each name, rather than one account for each person?

    example: you have 3 people named Chris. Each Chris account should denote which Chris it is for, right? Chris1, Chris2, Chris3. not Chris, Chris, and Chris. All three wouldn't be able to use the network at the same time then.

  12. #9
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    2,363
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 235 Times in 188 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ben09880 View Post
    The reason you had to change your name on the new computer is because you can't have the same user on two different machines within your network.
    That only applies to a domain. It makes no difference on a home network. In fact, it makes file sharing easier on a home network. I have a desktop and two laptops on my network, and I use the same names and passwords on all of them. They can all be online at the same time, and there is no problem or confusion.

    In a domain environment with roaming, a user can logon to any machine within the domain using his unique username and password, so no two users can have the same user name. But that's an entirely different environment, and does not apply at all to a home network environment.
    Create a new drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "Let them that don't want it have memories of not gettin' any." "Gratitude is riches and complaint is poverty and the worst I ever had was wonderful." Brother Dave Gardner "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else." Sir Thomas Robert Deware. "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand?" Captain Jack Sparrow.
    Unleash Windows

  13. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    Really??

    Oh... I think I got confused... The MACHINE name has to be different on each machine... that's what I was thinking about.

    sorry for any confusion.
    :facepalm:

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •