Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Chrome.exe proliferation

    chrome.exe is listed in my Explorer as 1,282KB in size. Why is it that after a fresh boot, I have 10 or more instances of a chrome.exe process, ranging in size from 25,000+ KB to 85,000+ KB, showing in my Task Manager before I have even opened a Google Chrome window?

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,146
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 248 Times in 241 Posts
    Right click on the Chrome title bar and open the Chrome Task Manager to see what each process is for.

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,400
    Thanks
    131
    Thanked 1,167 Times in 1,071 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dlc View Post
    chrome.exe is listed in my Explorer as 1,282KB in size. Why is it that after a fresh boot, I have 10 or more instances of a chrome.exe process, ranging in size from 25,000+ KB to 85,000+ KB, showing in my Task Manager before I have even opened a Google Chrome window?
    Some plugins may start even without a browser window.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,146
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 248 Times in 241 Posts
    Ya plugins and extensions and you may have other programs running the chrome engine behind the scenes. Avant and other browsers are examples of the later.

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Today I ran CCleaner after boot-up and got a message that I had to close Google Chrome if I wanted its trash cleaned. I hadn't opened Chrome. Also, when I shut down, I get a message that background applications are still running. I have to wait until they shut down or force them to close. When I do the latter, the next time I open Chrome I get a message that it didn't close properly and do I want to restore the previous session. Seems intrusive to me.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,146
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 248 Times in 241 Posts
    What seems intrusive, CCleaner or Chrome? If Chrome is indicated as running and Chrome Browser is not, figure out if you have anything else using the Chrome render engine and the message that background apps are still running should be taken seriously; you need to figure out what those are if you did not initiate any, from downloading to any unauthorized extension to...whatever.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •